We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveler rating
508
816
386
133
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
816
386
133
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view car park excellent location buffet breakfast good size secure parking central location room was large per day biscuits would stay again beans short break within easy walking distance tea and coffee full english family room
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Excellent hotel, beautiful decor and architecture. We had an upgrade, we were put on the top floor where we had exclusive use of the roof top terrace with a fantastic view over the rooftops of Leeds, bar, complementary breakfast. The concierge, Andy, was great: friendly, happy and helpful. The room was great; spacious room, lots of wardrobe space, safe, fridge, top range tea and coffee facilities, even had a sparkly bathroom! Close to town, excellent position for bars, restaurants and amenities. Would definitely book again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank 197nikkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

After looking through a lot of over priced hotels for a Saturday night out in York. I came across this little gem the queens hotel. Very central right on the river over looking the slug and lettuce. 10 mins walk to the train station. Our double room was on the top floor (3floors). We had velux window overlooking the river the room was very spacious and plenty of wardrobe space. It's was very clean and modern. The bathroom was spacious and very clean with a hair dryer attached to the wall. Breakfast was included in the price. We enjoyed a very hearty breakfast the staff were very polite and helpful. We will be visiting again very shortly. Could not fault anything.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jodK2225RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Stayed here recently for two nights. Had looked at the location online and found it to be very central and good for popping into town with a five minute walk into the centre of York.
The hotel itself was very tired, and in need of a renovation. The room was clean, but had flakey paint round the window and peeling wallpaper. The carpet looked rather ancient too and the bathroom had a marked shower curtain that needed disposing of. The bath, sink etc were all old and had seen better days. Day one and the toilet was blocked. On a positive note, the bedding and towels were nice and clean.
Onto breakfast. This was a buffet, help yourself. Plenty of it, but not great quality.
If this hotel had been cheaper I would have said you get what you pay for, but we paid a considerable amount for the two nights, and in my opinion, The Queens Head did not live up to my expectations! Disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juliegood1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Stay for 4 days last week and must say the hotel is perfect location for the city attractions with the shambles being only a 5-8 min walk (slow walk) and the Minster being a 10-15 mins walk (again slow walk) the hotel sits on he banks of the river Ouse and so has lovely views across the river to the city centre. the hotel staff are lovely and friendly and very helpful. Restaurant food was good and plenty of it as was breakfast. I would definitely be staying again - thank you Queens for a wonderful stay ps my room was fantastic as i needed a walk-in shower.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Had an enjoyable 4 night stay in the hotel. Our twin room was clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom had a shower over the bath, toilet and wash-hand basin. Towels were changed daily if put in the bath. There was tea/coffee facilities in the room. The tv had a good selection of channels if you had time to watch. Breakfast had a selection of cereals, fruit and cooked items. Could be busy at times. There is a small bar in the hotel. The hotel is conveniently situated for exploring York. Our room was very warm but an electric fan could be borrowed from reception. Having stayed here before we had brought a small travel fan with us. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The only downside was only one available plug socket in the room to recharge phones etc.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank petsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews