We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,878)
Filter reviews
1,878 results
Traveler rating
495
798
382
132
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
798
382
132
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view car park excellent location buffet breakfast good size central location secure parking per day room was large biscuits would stay again beans short break within easy walking distance full english lovely room family room
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 1,878 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

This is a 2 star hotel but should be upgraded to 3 star in my view very clean really friendly staff apart from the senior receptionist she was a bit frosty the food was excellent and the view from our Room was amazing one of the best hotels in have ever stayed in would definitely go back there if I was going back to York again

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank williamterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

A very well located hotel, just a short walk to the centre. Pre booked parking is available underneath the hotel (18 spaces).
Although we had a standard room (with no river view) the room was comfortable and everything we expected.
We arrived early, and the staff allowed us to leave our luggage, whilst we waited for the room. The staff were very pleasant.
However we could not always see them as their seating positions were below the counter, and we could only see the top of their heads, when arriving and leaving the hotel. So there weren't too many "hello and goodbyes" going on.
The breakfast was disappointing. There was only tinned fruit. The bread was wrapped in clingfilm and the "English breakfast" was buffet style, and looked like it was catering for the "coach party" trade...piles of bacon, sausage etc piled up on hot trays. The beans and tinned tomatoes looked as if they'd been bubbling in the hot tubs for days
!!!
There was a lovely lounge overlooking the river, it was such a pity that they didn't convert this area to the breakfast/dining room. The existing areas were entirely enclosed and with no character.
The evening food looked good value, but we didn't try it. There was no "promotion" of the evening meal, just a menu posted in the breakfast room. How about one in the hotel foyer?
These comments are meant as constructive, not criticism, as overall a very pleasant stay, but with a bit of "tweaking" it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Rooms are very good. On-site parking you have to pay for but it is a secure car park and it is cheaper then the local car parks.
The reception staff are amazing they go the extra mile to help customers. Check in was quick. The only negative bits is the restaurant the food is very good, but the menu is very small and changed daily. When we requested a table we were told we have 1 hour to eat our meal as they needed the table. So our dinner was not very relaxed. However we chose to eat somewhere else the next night. Breakfast is very good. All in all a very pleasant stay and we will be back here again soon.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Perfect location lovely spacious bedroom overlooking the river comfy bed, shower good only don't forget to put shower curtain in the bath !!. Great choice of breakfast hot and plentiful . View from the lounge across the river lovely at night. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: River view for sure
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Arrived early which was no problem as the room was ready. Large,comfortable and with excellent views of the river and the Ouse bridge.Good bed, large screen T V. and a decent ensuite.
Parking was £10 per day in a secure roller gated area beneath the hotel - may sound expensive but the car parks in York are much worse;
Easy five minute walk into the centre of the City and the right side to drive out if you are heading South.
Have tried most of the York hotels and this was as comfortable and convenient as any and better value than most. Good buffet breakfast and a nice littlr bar area overlooking the river. Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: River view a must.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews