We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel set in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good hotel set in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visited here with hubbie im May on a superbreak. Room was spacious and had a great view overlooking the river, although one complaint was the state of the curtains, these had holes in the lining which at night when the lights were coming in it lit up the room.
The hotel included breakfast which had a choice of a cooked breakfast and had a range of toast, cereals and croisants as well as tea and coffee and juices. The only thing at breakfast was the room was not big enough and we did have to wait on the first morning, also they could have done with having trays to put your breakfast on as everyone was having to go back and forfard for their hot drinks.
Staff we found very friendly and the rooms were kept clean and tidy on our return to them, overall we did enjoy our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markiemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    677
    327
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
921
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay , fantastic location with friendly staff who allowed us to leave our cases with them after we checked out which allowed us to see more of York . Nice clean room and very reasonable price so close to everything

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location. Rooms far too warm and humid as the internal ones face into a roof top so if going to this hotel in the summer months make sure you pick your room carefully. Would stay here again due to location. Hotel clean but reception and breakfast nothing special to say.

Room Tip: In the summer make sure you don't pick ones enclosing a lower roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Uk
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during the Tour De France and paid £150 per night for a river view room.

Yes we had a view of the river, but we also had a second window that over looked a local bar restaurant which was noisy until midnight on the Friday and Saturday night.

The room was dusty, the bed was soft and lumpy.

There was no air con on the room and having the windows opened meant being woken at 4am by the geese.

Break was help yourself to items such as cremated cheap bacon and sausage that was more like bread than meat.

I booked the hotel in December 2013 and paid in full at the time of booking (which was my choice), but on the understanding that we could leave the car on their car park until after the Tour de France had left York race course on the Sunday. On arrival we were then informed that the car would need to be off the car park by 11am. As it turned out this was not even possible as the road was closed both end for the race.

Overall it was not a pleasant stay and we will not be returning.

We had previously stayed at the hotel about 8 years ago and everything had been good.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIllyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a few days away with my partner and my recently widowed mother. York is a wonderful place and this is a very central hotel. We had two rooms and as I'd asked for a room with a view, none of us were disappointed with two lovely top floor rooms with great views of the Ouse through large velux windows. The rooms were great, very spacious modern and with excellent en-suites

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was a substantial buffet, full English if wanted. The place was busy, so it's obviously popular. Parking is hard in York but the hotel has good if limited parking underneath (not to be recommended if the river floods!). I was delighted that while there is an overnight charge, the friendly receptionist let me stay there without an additional charge until late the following afternoon, subject to the times of arrival of the next day's guests.

Room Tip: Book car parking underneath well ahead of your stay as it's limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the first time in June it's a nice hotel Central and easy walking distance to town centre room was clean and spacious breakfast is buffet style with a very good choice and was nice and hot if you come by car it's best to reserve parking when you book up as it is quite busy it's under ground parking and it's £10 a day we had a nice time at this hotel and will come back again Alan b

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights, had read the reveiws and was slightly concerned about the negative comments, BUT......our room (66) was lovely, on the top floor with a proper window (not velux) for a great view of the river. The room looked as though it had been freshly painted recently and new tiling in the bathroom, the room was clean, bed comfy. All staff were friendly and pleasant, breakfast was good. NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER. if your looking for somewhere nice for dinner out and about we would recommend OSCARS (big portions) and not too expensive, cheap local beer (£1:84 a pint) and very nice too, at THE KINGS ARMS, straight over the river from hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to a river view, if top floor ask for room 66 or 68 proper window not velux
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morag k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing