We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“such a lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“such a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

this is a 2 star hotel and I wasn't really expecting to write a glowing review as it was also a one night cheap deal. good to be providing a good review as it deserves it. Room was on the top floor after being checked in an hour early with speed and efficiency. Nice large room which was thoroughly checked-was spotless and smelled nice! bed was comfortable king size apart from pillows which were a bit flat. bedding good quality too. Plenty towels in bathroom. Overlooking the river added to its appeal. We didn't have our evening meal in the restaurant so cant comment but had breakfast the following morning. The hotel was fully booked and we had a 5 minute wait for a table. The staff were incredibly professional with tables cleared and reset for waiting people so no one had a long wait-even when a very short power cut happened in the middle of the breakfast sitting. Although it wasn't the biggest menu I've seen all food was cooked perfectly and topped up constantly. hot food was bacon sausages eggs (scrambled with fried and poached to order) mushrooms tomatoes and beans. Toast croissants yogurt cereal mixed fruit as well. Tea coffee and fruit juices to drink. The location couldn't be better as its just across the river from the main shop areas and few minutes from the Minster. Limited car park spaces and you have to pre book. Check out is 11 am so if you stay in York beyond that you do have to move the car somewhere else. Couldn't fault anything. Will definitely go back-on offer or not.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isikelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    677
    327
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
921
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights on a short break. An ideally located hotel for all that York has to offer, very close to the city centre which is a five minute walk away. The room was a good size and comfortable, the buffet breakfast was fine and the evening meal was tasty (the carvery was particularly good). I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here after getting a great deal on Living Social. Didn't expect much but the hotel is fab. Brilliant location- near all of York' main attractions. We had a lovely river view room which was light, airy and spacious. The bed was really comfy and I slept well which I often don't in a hotel. Breakfast was busy and we had a short wait for a table but the staff let us know what was happening and cleared a table for us as soon as they could. The food was lovely - lots to chose from. Very friendly helpful staff. Will be back .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lambsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the above hotel with a coach party on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal last weekend. It was excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was really nice with plenty of choice and nicely served. The hotel staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel is great too with just a short walk to the town center.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room facing the river. It was a lovely view to wake up to and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donkey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked this hotel as I had stayed here previously and found it to be very comfortable with an excellent location. I was booking budget - although it still cost £85.00 so my expectations were not that high. I booked direct with the hotel as I wanted to ensure I had parking as I had just bought a new car. I was assured that although they had no spaces in their underground car park they had an "arrangement " with the NCP car park a few minutes walk away which would cost just £10.00 the same as the hotel car park. When we arrived we were greeted by a rather sullen receptionist who went through the basics and gave us a ticket for the car park. She did warn us we mAy have difficulty getting out the following day as some of the tickets were not working. Difficult was not he word I would have used it was nigh on impossible and it took me an hour after speaking with the NCP staff via a machine at the exit barrier that I was not willing to pay the full price for the parking. When we did eventually get out we drove back to the hotel to collect our luggage and approached the manager to discuss our concerns. This woman was a disgrace to the hospitality industry and knew absolutely nothing about customer service. Her response to our concerns were that she wishes she had not given us the discount in the first place then we would have nothing to complain about! She continued with her rant at the front desk in front of all the other staff and clients ... It was an absolute disgrace. We paid and left but will never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great hotel in a excellent location, just a short walk from the town center. Rooms good size and very comfortable. Staff very friendly. Great choice of breakfast. Pre book car parking essential.
will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange240463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel is beautifully situated on the quayside in the centre of York. Reception was efficient and friendly. The lounge was extremely comfortable overlooking the river. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent.
We didn't eat evening meal in the restaurant due to pre-booked celebration elsewhere but breakfast absolutely fine. Well cooked and well presented. The staff worked diligently to keep tables as clear as possible.
Overall an excellent stay and we will not hesitate to return again.

Room Tip: I guess a river view would be iceing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing