We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cold room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Queens late January and the room with a river view was very nice and clean, but there were only two small electric radiators to heat the room and they were not up to the job ! but the rest of the hotel was very good ,nice breakfast and very friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    688
    332
    124
    68
See reviews for
214
940
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend break here and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the drink were affordable. Staff helpful and friendly and the location was within walking distance of the city centre.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeypoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Queens recently and had a wonderful time as usual. We have been several times over the last few years and we would not stay anywhere else in York. We went with friends and had rooms with river views. The rooms were comfortable and spotless and the staff were wonderful. We especially look forward to the buffet breakfast.
The hotel is right on the river so you can sit in the lounge and enjoy the view. You need to book the car park when you book your room.It's a very short walk into town and York is a lovely place for a holiday.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a real treat. Book a car park space when you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryH938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A gift from my daughter a night at this lovely hotel with beautiful views, first impressions were all good until at about 2am the fire alarms went off causing panic as apart from the shock nobody knew if it was real and people were in corridor in their Jamas trying to find out. Turns out someone was smoking in their room and eventually we were sent back to bed. Next morning we were groggy and not the only ones by the comments at the lovely breakfast. I went to reception because it didn't seem right that the entire hotels alarms went off not due to heat but smoke in a smoking bedroom, in our house we have heat detectors and it seemed daft that in a smoking room there were smoke detectors. Whilst enquiring to a member of staff who could hardly bring herself to look up at me, some new guests who were arriving got half a story and started saying things like best be safe than sorry and would she prefer to burn - obviously not but if also prefer not to get woken up with such a fright that my heart rate doubles . The staff showed no support towards me whatsoever and I left it as they clearly had no interest in my comments. When I got home I rang and asked for the head office contact details or managing directors name and I was told that there wasn't one and the highest person there was to speak to was the lady who had been uninterested stood behind the other uninterested lady I was talking to. Shame because I would have liked to return but wouldn't if same staff were there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Queen's. I seriously didn't expect such value for money. Wonderful clean comfortable room overlooking the Ouse. Very impressed with the room, food and hotel. Excellent position for the town. Will be back Thank you

Room Tip: ask for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights and was once again impressed by the friendly, helpful staff and general cleanliness. Really good size double room, comfortable bed and clean bathroom facilities. Excellent buffet breakfast, well cooked with plenty of choice. Quite a few other guests complimented the staff while we were enjoying the plentiful food. Great location for exploring York. You do need to book the hotel car park separately but this is well worth doing. Care if there is a flood risk as this can include the car park! Can't understand others moaning on this as there are warnings on the website, at the car park, and by hotel staff who take a tel number so they can make contact if flooding is a real concern. We've stayed here previously and have already booked another return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynK631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and was very impressed with the quality of everything. The room was really nice, a good size and very clean. The food was good especially the breakfast which was a help yourself buffet, one night was carvery night where the quantity of meat was huge and excellent. The staff were helpful at all times and couldn't do enough for us.
We will definitely come back as there is so much to see in and around York which we couldn't see in such a short time.
Well done to you all at the Queens.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing