We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On the plus side this city centre hotel has underground secure parking and even at £10 per day it is good value. The housekeeping standard could be better and the breakfast was poor. Overall the service was brisk and efficient but not particularly welcoming or helpful.

Room Tip: Noisy geese outside the river view rooms and early morning noise from waste collection and delivery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel with my daughter for one night and would like to say what a lovely stay we have had. the room we stayed in was booked as a twin room and when we got in there we was very surprised and pleased to find we had a lovely big double bed and a single bed. the only down side of the stay was that the room was on the main road, and although we had no problems sleeping through the night, we was woken about 6am this morning by the sound of lorries and dust carts going past, but this soon stopped after a while. we had dinner in the hotel on sunday night which was very nice the food was lovely and hot and the carvery had a good choice of things to have, the only problem was that the service between each course was very rushed and quick and you did not really have time to sit and relax in between each course, and also we never got to sample the lovely Yorkshire puds as they had all run out by the time we sat down to dinner. we had breakfast this morning which again was very nice the food on the buffet was hot and well cooked, the only thing that was not good was the very runny scrambled eggs, but as everything else was good there is no need to really moan too much about it. the shower in the room was sometimes a bit too hot, and we found that if you even tried to add cold water to it was still very hot, the only other small problem is the towels in the room was very small, and I do feel that some bigger bath towels would be a good idea.

overall we enjoyed out stay and would definitely come back to this hotel again if we was in York.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed a night at The Queens hotel this week and found it very comfortable and welcoming with a handy car park underneath. Although one of us had to go in and check in and give the registration number of our car first, this took only a few minutes and was no great inconvenience as there was plenty of room to wait outside.
The bed was very comfortable, the view of the river Ouse and the ancient properties on the opposite bank was pleasant. The room had adjustable heating which was useful as often hotel rooms can be far to warm. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of continental and full English with good quality products on offer. To be honest for the price we paid I felt this was very good value and quite acceptable all round.
The location is great for walking to all the local attractions, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a must, we didn't ask for this but we did have a room with a river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankiesnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having just returned from a 1-night stay in this hotel me and my partner both agreed that this really is a poor hotel. We had arranged with the hotel prior to arriving that we would be needing to reserve a space in their car park at the cost of £10.00 to pay on arrival. When we arrived at 5pm to check in as we'd spent the day shopping at the designer outlet my husband tried to get in the car park in which he was told when he pressed the buzzer that he needed to check-in first. So he literally had to leave the car outside the hotel to go in and mess about checking in leaving myself and our 19 month old son in the car. Luckily he was not traveling without me otherwise he'd of had the hassle of taking my son in and out of the car seat etc. When he went in he was greeted by the receptionist who had an appalling attitude towards him when he replied he didn't have the voucher to check in as it was in the car along with all our other belongings as he was just nipping in to get access to the car park. Once we'd gained entry to the car park and checked in again I was told that our car was to be moved when we check out by 11am the following day..... Had I have known this before I would of just parked elsewhere as it was already approaching the evening. We arrived at our room in which the key card took about 7 attempts to open the door to a very tired, oddly smelling room with no travel cot (i specifically requested one when booking) back down the reception to get the travel cot as the phone in the room had no number or instructions to dial reception. Once in the room which was a good size and a did have a nice view we was rather disappointed. It looked old, smelt old, above the headboard was covered in dust, the carpet looked like it needed an hoover. Me and my husband agreed it felt like we was in an care home. The bathroom wasn't any better the taps were old and as you can see in the pictures someone has posted sort of rusting. I had a shower before we headed out and saw a pubic hair around the bath edge and also someones actual hair wrapped around the tap of the bath which I just find disgusting. When drying myself with their towels I could what I thought was fish and chips when I smelt the towel I could smell an awful vinegar smell which must have been some sort of chemical they use to wash the towels. The breakfast was good it was fresh and you could get as much as you wanted, however the poor woman in charge of the breakfast area looked rushed off her feet and you could sense and see her stress which was uncomfortable to watch. The bar area which is opposite the breakfast buffet was covered by decorating sheets which was hugely unattractive. On check out we was handed a discounted car parking ticket for the local NCP car park by the rude receptionist who checked us in, for the "misunderstanding the previous day" (thats what she called it) and told if we insert it before leaving the car park we would get the rate the staff there get. When we arrived back at the NCP car park and inserted the ticket the hotel staff had given us it read "card unreadable" in 3 different pay stations. So it cost us £10.80 to get out of the car park and we was only there 4.5 hours. Total rip off and waste of time. Again we would have parked else where but with the receptionist giving us the discount ticket we thought it would be reasonable.

Good Points - Location (However they was a travel lodge 2min walk from this hotel)
- Breakfast

Bad Points - Receptionist really rude and poor mannered,
- Look of the entire hotel was really old, tired.
- Car parking a silly policy of leaving your car outside to check in to then have to go
back out to move car.
- Cleanliness was poor.

Overall this nights stay was gifted to me and my husband by my mother-in-law and we both said at the same time.. "We're glad we hadn't had to pay for it" Hugely disappointing next time will stay in a Premier Inn again as you know what your getting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here it may be cheap but you get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Got room right on river, ten mins from station and shops so excellent location for shopping, restaurants etc. Bit of updating needed but hotel clean and room was decent size, bathroom bit small though. Comfortable bed with coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast was very good although restaurant was packed we didn't have to wait for a table and friendly staff cleared them very quickly.

Nice being able to leave our cases behind reception so we could shop unhampered.

Decent glass of wine in bar £4.50 for a large one and nice to sit lookiing out onto the river.

Would definitely stay here again when next in York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is the reason I keep returning to it. It is 5 minutes walk into the centre of York.
The hotel is dated. The rooms are a good size, but in need of a lick of paint and some TLC.
Breakfast is good though and cater for gluten free diets. (GF cerial, toast and sausages).

Worth paying the extra £10 for the river view.

Room Tip: River view room for an extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljbal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We paid £10 extra for a river view and it was worth it. We requested the top floor and that's what we got. Just a 10 min walk from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of York which is a perfect base for all the shops and sights. The room was clean and comfortable with flatscreen tv mounted on wall with Tea and coffe making facilities too. The room price was reasonable too for It's location. Would stay here again next time I'm in York.

Room Tip: request top floor river view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,947 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing