We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We paid £10 extra for a river view and it was worth it. We requested the top floor and that's what we got. Just a 10 min walk from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of York which is a perfect base for all the shops and sights. The room was clean and comfortable with flatscreen tv mounted on wall with Tea and coffe making facilities too. The room price was reasonable too for It's location. Would stay here again next time I'm in York.

Room Tip: request top floor river view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    705
    342
    124
    68
See reviews for
219
968
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

As with a lot of larger hotels the welcome is not as personal as smaller hotels. The room was quite large and adequately clean. The one major downside is the breakfast arrangements. Quite frankly the dining area is not big enough for the size of the hotel which meant waiting 10-20 minutes for a table(glad we weren't in a rush!). Also as someone else has pointed out, it is very cramped around the servery area which is a real 'health and safety' issue as people are backing into people with hot coffee, oh dear! Anyway, I don't like buffet style, I prefer to be served.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the entrance as the 'hum' of the automatic front door opening (at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Being born in and growing up in York this was a return trip. We booked the Queens for its location and ease of access to anywhere in York. The Hotel was clean and our room was larger than expected. We stayed for two nights and slept extremely well with all the amenities. The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the days. Unfortunately the river had flooded so the carparking underneath the hotel was out of the question. They had made provisions with a local car park at the same rate so the inconvenience was lessened.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Queens. Although the hotel is old and a little tired looking the rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the location is hard to beat. We found the staff to be helpful when asked a question. Breakfast, which was included in our room price was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean, Comfortable and Convenient.
Stayed for a 2 night break midweek. Excellent food and good value for money.The waiting staff were friendly,polite and efficient.

Only criticisms (Constructive)

Reception staff could be more interested and helpful--rather bland.
Dining room is really not adequate in size for the amount of guests it caters for.
Seating should be much further back from the carvery area.
In all in we enjoyed it and would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estherwhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed recently on a four day coach trip and must say my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Queens Hotel.
As others have stated, it is in need of updating but having said this there is nothing really to fault in the hotel.
The staff couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was piping hot and more than adequate, although the sausages left a lot to be desired.
Our evening meals were also very good, especially the buffet on the second night we were there. As much meat as you could eat and plenty of vegetables and "yorkies"
We were in a river view room, we booked a twin but there was a massive double bed and a single which were both really comfortable and had plenty of pillows which, as my husband is asthmatic he needs three or maybe four pillows to aid his breathing.
All in all a lovely break
The hotel manager even came on to our bus to wish us a safe journey home and apologised for not welcoming us on our first day as she was ill.
We would certainly stay at the Queens again, the only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was that our bins weren't emptied in our room.

Room Tip: Obviously a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rednana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at queens hotel meant to have been for 3nights but our bed was in such a bad condition full of lumps we only stayed two, we went for a break the only thing we got was sore backs and certainly did not feel rested.. but must admit there meals were excellent and staff were very friendly....its such a shame they let them selves down by having beds that should have been thrown out long ago...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing