We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, miserable reception staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good location, miserable reception staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is in a gret location, very central. Car parking is extra and has to be pre-booked due to only a small amount of spaces available. The car park is very secure and is operated by a shutter. We had a riverview room which was lovely, spacious, lovely view and very comfortable. Free wifi is a nice bonus. Breakfast was pretty good, fried/poached eggs cooked to order. My only criticism is that the we didnt find the reception staff particularly friendly. They were not particularly forthcoming with information on check in other than 'your room is one the second floor'. No information given regarding restaurant times/location, checking out time, car park exit. There was a member of staff who was coming out of the car park after having to move her car as she was blocking someone in, so we asked about the shutters and whether they were automatic as we had seen some prople press a buzzer, she looked at us like we were aliens and answered very abruptly. Pity because other than the miserable staff I found the hotel great in other aspects.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    677
    327
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
921
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here in a group of 10 on Saturday the 19th of October.

Check in was quick although the male recpetionist hardly spoke. I was in room 53. Bathroom huge and bed comfy, tv far too small for the room though and only one plug socket, not ideal when there are 2 woman.

Meal in restaurant was good although the plate heater was far too hot resolving in having to use napkins to hold your plate (same problem at breakfast)

Would stay again for one night, returning to York as it's one of my favourite places to go but opting for Hilton this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for views of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west glamorgan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

just spent 4 nights at this hotel and after reading other reviews was pleasantly surprised. The room was large very clean and looked newly decorated,the bathroom also good but the shower left something to be desired,also the television was much to small for the room and the sound was awful,but you don,t spend all day watching that.The breakfast was very good,plenty of choice and as much as you wanted. We had evening meals as well which were excellent and the service was very good.not kept waiting for ages between courses.The only thing I would say is that if you chose to stay in after dinner they could do with a bit of background music, its very quiet.After reading some of the reviews I wondered if we had stayed in the same hotel.Not one of the staff were rude or aggressive, and the all seemed very obliging.I would stay again as the location was excellent for town, and all the sights.

Room Tip: we had a room over the front entrance on the first floor.no problem with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jecathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went on the Red Dragon Coach which was luxurious to York and stayed at the Queens Hotel, My friend and I had booked a twin room which we found quite spacious with a king size bed and a single. there were three chairs in the room and a table. We did not have a view of the river but it was very quiet it was clean We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The food was very good especially the carvery on our last night which was Wednesday. the reception staff even printed off a photo of my new grandson which was born on the day of our arrival, and brought it up to my bedroom. she was as excited as me I would stay there again

Room Tip: we were on the first floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my mom stayed in the hotel from the fourth to the seventh of October.When we entered we found the stairs. Since we had heavy bags, I tried to get a lift for the disabled people.I was approached by a hotel employee and began to shout at me''Lift for disabled people,and not to lift luggage.I had to go down and drag suitcases up the stairs. When we entered the room,we were shocked.The room (number 45) is never cleaned. Dust is everywhere. Never book this terrible, dirty hotel where very rude staff!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngelHolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed one night at the Queens Hotel, our room, described as superior was really lovely, and overlooked the river with lovely views. The room was very comfortable and spacious and we were more than happy with it. The hotel is very central and ideal for browsing round the shops and sights of York. The evening meal was very poor, there is no a la carte menu, just a 'menu of the day' wihich was very basic, poorly cooked food served in a dismal dining area. The breakfast was adequate, all in all I would recommend the hotel, but be sure to dine out !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

On arrival the reception area is not welcoming and in case you had not pre booked car parking you will have to go to a local NCP. Overall the hotel looks tired and in need of some redecorating. The entire place is not very appealing and we were no inclined to eat there. Our room was on the ground floor at street level and without any double glazing the noise from outside kept us awake all night, and when the kitchen staff arrived at 6am they could not have more noise if they tried. So not a good experience and never to be repeated.

Room Tip: Try and get room on the riverside if you dare to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing