We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here as a family and found it a great base from which to explore York. Very central and a lovely riverside location.

Room was clean and had all we needed and staff were friendly. Parking in York is expensive so booking a space at the hotel is a good idea especially as there isn't enough room for all guests.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on food options. Would definitely stay here again especially as the rates are so reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel was lovely and clean. We went at race day and atmosphere was great. Rooms spacey and quaint in the attic . Breakfast and staff couldn't be better. The bar was reasonable in price and snacks were available

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The exterior & location of The Queen's is, alas, far more promising than its interior- reception looks unwelcoming & dated & the staff seem rather fed up.

Our room (26) overlooked the river (brilliant view!) but alas was stuffy, and we couldn't keep the window open as it clicked, rattled & attempted to close itself. The bed sheet was unpleasant, being plastic backed, and made us far too hot. Decor in the bathroom was getting a tad tatty but at least it was clean. The breakfast was reasonable, but the tinned fruit, cold toast, flabby croissants & lumpy scrambled egg were none too tempting & the coffee was stewed. I wouldn't want to pay full price for this hotel, but its location made it ideal for a one-night short break & we did get it through a discount site...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizthesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Ive never considered leaving feedback for places we have stayed at but felt I had to break my silence on this occasion . On arrival from the outside the hotel looks good.theres secure parking but not many spaces at a reasonable price.the room however was aparantly the best room in the hotel with a river view, a superior room! The bedding was crisp clean, however the mattress had an inverted hole and you could feel the springs through it. The hole or depression was around 8 inches in circumference! The radiators hadn't seen polish or a duster for a while as there was a good covering of dust in the vent outlets!the bathroom floor looked and felt dirty and sticky, the shelving was poor and dusty, there was a panel hanging off the wall exposing the plumbing behind and the shower head, well lets just say I cleaned the shower head the best I could but couldn't move the grime completely!!! The bathroom walls clearly had dirt all over them and hadnt been attacked with a bottle of bleach or anti bacterial wash for a long time. The room was indeed a river view and this is the only positive we could give this hotel. When we explained to the reception staff of our concerns we were told that they could move us to another room, as they had no rooms available as the hotel was full, but as we were supposedly in the best room we asked for a refund on our 2nd night which was refunded to us.we checked out, not at all happy with the hotels cleanliness or appearance inside. From viewing the pictures on line we had an idea that it wouldn't be the plushest hotel however the unclean state of the room we had, "the best room in the hotel"! Made us cringe to think what the other rooms would be like if we were in the best room!!!!!! Wholly disappointed with the hotel and room and not as advertised. I have taken photos of the above mentioned negative points.The one other positive for this hotel is that it is on the riverside and close to everything, however so are other hotels that are cleaner and have mattresses without dips and spings sticking in your body and I would always pay more to stay in a cleaner more modern hotel. This is one that tops our list of places to avoid for sure!the manager was superb and listened to our concerns and we had no issues at all with the management or the staff who assisted us well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's location and price, which were very good.
Our room was spacious, with basic but sufficient storage space, as was the bathroom. The bed was old and uncomfortable, but warm enough. As seems to be common with 2-star hotels, rooms aren't vacuumed unless necessary and beds are left unmade, apart from shaking out the duvet. Even the pillows weren't plumped up, but just left in the positions in which they were last used. But these are just minor points.
There was a good selection of dishes for breakfast, with more which could be ordered. We had one evening meal at the hotel which was delicious and nicely served.
All the members of staff were friendly, cheerful, and very helpful.
With a little more effort this could easily become a 3-star hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night and I was very pleasantly surprised after reading some previous reviews. The hotel is situated on the River Ouse and is in an ideal spot for walking to all local attractions including the Minster, shambles, railway museum, dungeons etc. There are also lots of restaurants and pubs nearby. The reception area could do with a coat of paint and a new carpet but don't be put off by this, other parts of the hotel are fine. We booked a double room which was situated on the third floor overlooking the inside courtyard. The room was large with a big double bed and a single. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable despite being softer than I like! There was plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits in the room. Breakfast was included in the price and although there was a little wait for a table, the staff were very organised taking people's room numbers and calling people in order of their wait. We waited comfortably in the lounge area next to the restaurant. The breakfast was hot, tasty and plentiful, with lots of choice. All staff within the hotel were very helpful and friendly. There is a small secure car park under the hotel, I booked a space prior to the visit and again, this was very organised. The cost to park was £10 which I was happy to pay as I knew the car was secure and this was a lot cheaper than the local public car parks. I appreciate however that we were lucky to get a space as I'm sure there is a demand as spaces are few. Excellent stay in a very central hotel with professional, helpful, friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is right on the river, and easy walking distance to all the local attractions, bars etc. Room was a good size and clean. View was looking over a flat roof, you can pay extra for river view but we weren't too worried by this. Breakfast was full English buffet, I thought it was very nice. We forgot to pre book parking, our own fault, but NCP is near by which was only slightly more expensive.
If you can find after 8 restaurant near by its worth a visit, but it is well hidden.
Bettys tea rooms are also worth a visit but pre book ,its very busy.

Room Tip: River view (extra charge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaBoy349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
878 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $98 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing