We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously gone down hill”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Seriously gone down hill”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the queens many times in the past, never had any issues, so as a birthday present she booked us in again for 2 nights. Check in was swift, our room was ready early which was great so we unpacked and out we went. Upon coming back to the hotel we went for a shower to freshen up for a night out only to find out the shower was only a trickle. My wife phoned reception and they said along the lines of oh yeah we know it's not working! My wife asked why they still letting out the room knowing this and she got some story that it had been tried to be fixed. After much inconvenience re-packing, changing rooms un-packing we finally got out much later than anticipated. Upon our return the card key would not work to open the door, another trek down to reception for it to be reactivated. Next day my wife went to reception to speak to the manager, and this is where it all went down hill. Half hearted apologies, comments like I've already apologised and I can't give something to everyone who complains doesn't go down well with my wife who herself excells in customer service (then again not everyone has the same standards). The manager said customers should have been contacted who were due to stay in that room. We certainly weren't, despite them having our phone number and address. We were offered a free drink at the bar, my wife said tongue in cheek we'd rather have breakfast. In the end we were given a drinks voucher which we declined. It's not the freebies we wanted it was an apology that was meant sincerely. walking back to the lift my wife said to me she didn't like the managers negative attitude and my wife got told off from a receptionist! Excuse me we are paying them to stay here are we not? After another day out the card key wouldn't work again, after following advice not to keep it next to other cards or mobiles. Bit of a coincidence??? This time a lovely young lady on reception sorted it out and her apology and empathy was genuine, think her name was adele, my wife said straight away she posseses natural customer service, thank you adele. Rooms were ok, clean, warm, compact, bathroom could do with tlc and a good clean of the skirting boards which were rather dusty. We don't expect 5 star service for what we paid but we do expect courtesy especially from a management position. Never again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallionlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    718
    348
    125
    68
See reviews for
225
988
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location right on the river, we had a river view room which was lovely. Staff were polite and helpful, rooms were clean and tidy.We also had car park space under hotel. City centre just outside.
Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in York, destination well recommended. The hotel is good value, compared to others but is clean basic value, certainly not the worst. Location was fantasic inbetween the train station and main centre of York situated on the river. Room was clean, but bathroom was in need of some TLC, no shower pressure and the bath water tap came off in our hands. Staff seems okay but apart from check in no real dealings. Breakfast was not great seemed like an offering rather than a full english with very little taste would not liked to have paid £8 per person. All in all no real gripes would book again if in York.

Room Tip: Get a river view room, mind those that are next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Returned to this hotel last weekend on the same B&B basis as last year - this time we had our 12 year old son with us. Including breakfast really was a plus, good quality food and a lovely river view area to sit with a coffee.
Rooms very spacious, comfortable and ultra clean. Heating works really well is easy to use and is noiseless.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Will stay here again the next time we are in York - we think its a real find in such a good location at a good price.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great, but the Skeldersgate rooms are quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

lovely hotel..fairly good condition....fantastic breaky....brilliant location....our room was basic..could of done with a bit TLC few stains here and there, nothing that would put you off staying again, bed was okay to sleep in..nice and quiet at night time....next time i will pay the extra for river view.. would stay here again.. thumbs up .... staff were very helpfull ... 10/10 for breaky :) :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for thursday night using a late deals offer. Decided to go on train and avoid the drive and parking costs and the hotel was easy to find from the station.
Got to hotel about 3pm and given a nice room on the top floor by the vety friendly and welcoming reception staff.
Room was clean and warm and bed very comfy, only problem was the velux window was too high for a smaller person to close ie my fience.
The breakfast was buffet style and the veggie choises are pretty limited but I had plenty of what was available which was hot and tasty.
We then had a great day in York which is a short walk away
Enjoyed our visit and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was decent, excellent location in the centre of York but spoilt by an embarrassing situation in hotel restaurant :-(, when we went to order breakfast and was made to feel so embarresed by the bar manager when we were told that our DOUBLE room had only one person booked in and we had to pay an extra £7.95 for my guest who happens to be my fiance, who in front of all the other guests was made to look like some random that I had picked up off the streets that night and dragged back to the hotel. Why would I book a double hotel room and go to York by myself ?? Which sort of spoilt our stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing