We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Hotel”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Value Hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are looking for a Hotel within walking distance of York which offers excellent value for money with spotlessly clean bedrooms and friendly service the Queens is for you.
We had a room overlooking the river which was very pleasent and well equipped plus free wifi my only concern was in our room 44 the hot water both in the bath & shower was 1 degree less than steam which can cause severe burns for the unwary. The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices and the dinners had only 2 choices but were well presented, nothing fancy but perfectly edible. The staff were friendly and the service excellent. Would we stay there again DEFINATLY.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is well worth any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_g_dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    705
    342
    124
    68
See reviews for
219
968
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great position on the banks of the river and if you have a room at that side of the hotel you will have a great view. All of the attractions ate in easy walking distance.

We did not have a river view and were instead on the top floor and nly had a dormer window. The room was a good size with an adequate bathroom. One significant problem with our room (room59) was the noise. It was not that people were particularly noise just that it seemed to echo around the corridors. A particular problem with our room was that being next to the lift you could hear the lift announcements such as door closing etc.

We booked on a special deal so on that basis even with the noise the room represented good value.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank D_Marshallwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for just one night. Had a lovely view across the river. Room nicely decorated with matching bedspread, curtains, chairs etc and bed was very comfy with plenty of pillows. Nice shower gels and hand soaps. Had a load of geese outside which were entertaining! The 2 blonde ladies on the desk were especially friendly. Breakfast one of the best we've had in a small hotel, very well organised with plenty of choice. And ooh the fried bread!! Long time since I've had fried bread with a breakfast and I enjoyed it. Bacon lovely and also the fruit juices and coffee. Only downside to hotel was that we had booked a parking space and we couldn't use it as it was a bit muddy, so we had to use NCP car park at £17 overnight. Bit of a shame and a pain to have to walk there in the morning with our case etc. but overall we loved the hotel itself and would certainly stay there again (maybe try and get a lift to York from my daughter next time)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hil_cross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
557 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is what it is a standard three star hotel. The advantage is that it is on the riverside and very central. The disadvantage is that when the river overflows the hotel car park floods, and sometimes the hotel itself. The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful, the room (no68) was clean and very presentiful with tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom small but adequate. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and the food was hot and tasty. However the evening meal was very disappointing very small portions with frozen chips and barely warm however we did get a free bottle of house wine which was a bonus. We stayed here on a living socials deal andsassociated far as value for money it was not to bad. Would I stay here again, yes if the right deal was on offer but I would be reluctant to pay the full tariff. The hotel car park is £10 per day which is a lot cheaper than parking all day in central York and it is a secure car park.

Room Tip: If thecar park is accessible use it as its reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now using a Living Social Voucher & love the location as its so central & a great position for the shops, restaurants & bar. The hotel is clean & the rooms are a generous size. The river view rooms have a great view. The river was flooded when we were visiting so we were not able to use the hotels car park (£10) as planned but we were directed to an NCP car park nearby (£17 for 24 hrs) which probably worked out a similar price as we would have had to have moved the car at check out 11am. The only let down was the shower which definitely needed an upgrade. The only meal in the hotel was breakfast which was average.

Room Tip: Good value with a voucher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

It has a good location (not the best) and staff is very friendly. Room was old fashionable but very big and confortable. Hotel is next to the river wich, when flooded, gives a beautiful view, but need to use the backdoor. In overall had a good stay, but could be better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodriDaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Got cheap deal on Living Social £59 for two, bed and breakfast. Had been told by work colleague after booking hotel that it wasn't very clean. However, we found it to be clean, with a nice room plenty of space,looking onto the river. The breakfast was good and hearty. The hotel is in an excellent location right on the doorstep for York;s tourist attractions and shopping. Could not faul it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing