We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visit York regularly to see friends but this time their spare room was full so I booked very last minute into the Queens Hotel. I didnt really know what to expect apart from a very quick visit to their website. The location is superb - our room overlooked the river and had views to York Minster. It was very central and surrounded by lots of good places to eat and all the attractions of York. The room was spacious (and much nicer than the photos on the website!) The bathroom was also spacious. Both room and bathroom had all you need for a few nights stay. The only down side of this hotel was a rather disappointing breakfast. I would most definetly stay here again but would try to get room only next time and have my breakfast at Betty's!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDollive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

just came back from a few days at York.
we used the Queens Hotel as our base, its close to the centre, walking distance in fact.
Its clean, comfortable, breakfasts are good and plentiful, as you help yourself, staff are polite and courteous, and its a reasonable price. it is showing signs of wear and the bedroom and bathroom although large are staring to look tired. But considering the fact that they have just came through a period of flooding you could overlook that, if you are expecting Hilton standards then you would have to pay their price and stay there.
it has its own car park which you have to pay extra for, but its York and all parking is not cheap.
you are right on the river so you have to check if the Ouse is flooding, mind you its only the car park that would suffer.
close to all amenities, pubs, restaurants and shops.
you also get greeted by the geese from the river which sleep under the bridge

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We liked it here right on the river you cross the river then you are in the shopping area which is lovely especially the older part.
Parking in york can be a problem we found it to be expensive but there again we are Scottish and don't charge these stupid prices which drive tourism away

Room Tip: get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a first class but not expensive hotel in York then the Queens may be the one.

I wanted a get away weekend for my very stressed son and his partner and decided on The Queens. Before they arrived I found the service first class and staff could not do enough to make it a special stay.

The location is excellent, the attractions of York are over the bridge next to the hotel so its accommodation and in the heart of things yes, noise, no.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55MINUTESMILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the queens...fantastic value for money! Alright it's no 5 star hotel but your not paying 5 star prices so hey ho! We booked through a deal and got a fantastic price on this brilliantly located hotel the deal included a free room upgrade to a river view! During our stay it started to snow making our view really romantic...bonus! All in all great location, fab breakfast, and good value for money would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahnruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just had a very pleasent stay at The Queens Hotel right on the banks of the Ouse. Location was fantastic just a short walk into the city centre. The hotel is quite basic but unlike one of the previous reviewer we found it to be perfectly clean, we had a side room which was very large with a lovely comfy bed. We booked BB and evening meal. We thought we would try the restaurant for the first night not expecting too much for the price we had paid, we were very pleasantly supprised, the food was execllent, 3 starters, 4 mains and 3 puds to choose from. All served very efficeintly by I agreed very young but very pleasent young people, We quite enjoyed the "imformal" atmosphere. As we had enjoyed the food on friday we went again for Supper on Saturday which was a carvery I chose Beef which was lovely and tender. Breakfast is "help yourself" which is not a problem, fresh fruit, youghurts, usual cooked choice and a good selection of cereals(nice big china mugs for your morning tea).
If you want staff cow-towing and tugging their forelock at you then go and stay at The Hitlon and pay 4 times ther price. If you want good value, good food in a more informal atmosphere The Queens is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here twice and the whole package is great. It has position and secure parking which is rare in York. Breakfast is first rate and included in the room rate when we've stayed. Rooms are clean, well maintained and a good size. Position could not be much better, it is inside the city walls and easy to access by car (have a look on google maps and use street view before you go because missing the turn could be a problem)

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotelOwnerNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $96 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing