We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sandwiches”
Review of Mairs

Mairs
Ranked #330 of 869 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Deli with area inside and outside for eating!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This used to be my local deli when I lived in York and I absolutely loved the food there. I now live in Manchester but was passing York (!) today and couldn't resist its draw, which speaks volumes about the place. Ingredients are great and the sandwich possibilities are almost literally endless. The service is great and the owners are always friendly and unflappable no matter how busy it gets. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHR500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous deli, hidden little gem....”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Almost don't want to review Mairs, as it's my local cafe and busy enough already!! Loads of choice (and I'm a vegetarian, even more if you eat meat and fish), incredibly popular with the locals (always busy), huge portions, interesting specials (today my friends got onion bahji, bacon, egg, mozzarella and chilli chutney sandwiches!), kid friendly and reasonable prices.

Don't understand the comments about service, they've been nothing, but professional when I've been there. Today they locked up the shop whilst we were still there (having cakes, after huge sandwiches...), but they said to us we were welcome to stay as long as we like as they will be there for some time).

The shop does get very busy and waiting for a take away could be a while, but that just shows how popular it is. Hang around and get a table and relax for the afternoon.

One negative - no toilet!! But great pub down the road, The Walnut Tree, for a pint afterwards :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grimdlewold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Class food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable food, great service, lovely people! Mexican chicken, jalepenos and french baguette. WORLD CLASS!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a fantastic little deli. Great sandwiches but not only that lovely parmesan and other cheeses. go theree.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yemassee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

You cannot knock the food here, but the service has always left a bit to be desired. Cages should never leave a customer feeling like they are a nuisance but this has been a common complaint from both myself and a number of people I know. It's a shame as they have a captive audience, but they need to take a leaf out of the Pig and Pastry, Sophie's cafe or Me and Mrs Fisher's style of customer service

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soapdish1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mairs also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing