We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #204 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Chequers, Bilton-in-Ainsty. Located on the outskirts of York and a short drive from Harrogate and Leeds we are a country pub with accommodation. With rolling hills on one side of the pub and a chocolate box village on the other, you're nestled in the perfect location to enjoy a tipple, dine in our restaurant or stay the night in one of our three letting rooms. With a roaring log burner in the winter and a beer garden overlooking rolling hills in the summer we are truly a pub for all seasons. Offering traditional 'pub grub' served to a high quality along with dishes with a more contemporary twist we make sure our customer service matches the high standard of the food. Serving a from a lunch menu in the day with some lighter bites we move to an evening menu from 5pm onwards. Sundays at The Chequers offers you a traditional Sunday lunch from midday till 8pm.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had afternoon tea with my family here and it was fabulous, the service was warm and welcoming and the tea was great, a must visit when in area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    36
    11
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
305 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best Afternooon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our daughter bought us a Living Social Deal for afternoon tea with champagne at the Chequers Inn which is a short drive from York where we spent the morning. On arrival, our table was set with slate placemats and cream crockery. We opted to have our champagne when we arrived and sat in the cosy inn sipping our well chilled champagne. The guy behind the bar brought us a small blackboard with a selection of teas and coffees to choose from and we chose to have the Harrogate tea
. A three tier cake stand was then brought in with generously sized finger sandwiches - beef and horseradish, smoked salmon and cream cheese and cucumber. As neither of us like horseradish, we asked if we could have the beef sandwiches plain and more sandwiches of beautifully cooked rare roast beef were brought immediately.
The next tier contained scones with strawberry jam and whipped cream- delicious! and the top tier had five different small cakes- all homemade. Rhubarb and ginger shortbread, chocolate éclairs, rocky road, lemon drizzle and sticky toffee pudding- all delightful and we enjoyed them all.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting York or just out for a run in the countryside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayaddict51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb food & superb friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Been to day for afternoon tea with my partner, had a lovely relaxing afternoon.
The food was all home baked, delicious.
Highly recommend.
Friendly lovely staff.
Beautiful country pub.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Burns Night and i didnt know it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visiting friends in Longmarston and they had booked a meal here, it turned out it was a Burns night theme. Not been here before but I really enjoyed it.

The guys that run it seem to know how to put on an event, some were even kilted up for the occasion! The food standard was incredibly good and the atmosphere welcoming, fires were lit.

For starters my Wife had the Scottish smokie Fishcakes which had a chive source and she loved them. I had the Goats cheese and that was also superb. Haggis, Neaps and tatties as an interim course before the main were a nice touch. For mains we had venison and the steak in whisky source. The puddings were superbly presented also.

In all, a fantastic night out, had to get taxis back after too many drams, turns out they have rooms. Next time will stay here for B&B rather than in Wetherby

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RedRich98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently visited the Chequers Inn for an afternoon tea, myself and my daughter and grandson went, the tea was lovely there was a lot of variety of sandwiches and cakes. The service we received was excellent and very friendly staff, we were really looked after a great afternoon well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Tadcaster, Selby District
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Gate Helmsley, York
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing