We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bloomsbury
Nearby Hotels
$233
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$197
$84
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$174
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
$117
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
863
44
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
44
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyorkshire terrierpeony roomholly berrylemon drizzle cakematt paulperfect hostson arrivalcity centrefriendly hostsbreakfast was deliciousfull englisheggs benedictpot of teaan easy minute walkhome from homecooked to perfectionfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 910 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

just returned home after a 3 nights stay .Made very welcome lovely room immaculately clean .The breakfast was superb top class ingredients cooked to perfection . It was a bit further from city centre than we expected a bit too far for us to walk so we used the number 2 bus to get about . the last bus back is 8pm 6pm on Sunday .no nice places to eat near b&b so had to go back into city to eat .We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it if you dont mind being just out of the centre

Room Tip: we had a room at the back and it was very quiet
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A beautiful B&B which oozes character and warmth. The hosts couldn't have been friendlier, with tea and cake upon our arrival. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated to suit the era of the building. Stephen and Tricia were very helpful, providing us with maps and recommendations. Located just a ten minute stroll from the centre of York, it's an ideal place to stay. If you like your breakfast, this is the place to be. Good selection, fresh fruit, and the best cooked breakfast we've ever had! If you can find a better breakfast than the Bloomsbury,anywhere,please let me know.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank belindaandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

And so we were, marooned on the jolly big dystopian nightmare that is the Hotel Mercure (utterly woeful - please don't bother) and I thought there must be a way to salvage our trip to York. We decided to walk from the hotel and call at the first place we saw which was The Bloomsbury and they had one room left!
In a nutshell, Tricia and Steve were exceptional hosts delivering a fantastic breakfast and first-rate service. The room was quaint and pretty in the way that all rooms should be across Albion and the atmosphere was clean, cosy and toasty. A treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiveQuicheAChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Bloomsbury a number of times over the last few years as I visit York semi-regularly to keep up with my Godson – I last stayed in February 2014. It is very much a home-away-from-home - lovely comfortable accommodation without the formality of a hotel.

The welcome is always warm without being overbearing, the breakfast excellent, and the parking very easy. Either Steve or Tricia are normally there to greet you, and both are around during breakfast if you need any guidance on what to see or where to eat that evening. Other than this, one is generally left to one’s own devices and free to come and go as you please.

All the rooms I have stayed in have been large enough to relax in (comfy chairs etc provided) – you get more than just a bedroom. There is also now a small lounge if you do want to sit and read (or work) away from your room. The free WIFI works well throughout the building, and everything everywhere is spotlessly clean.

I definitely recommend The Bloomsbury and look forward to returning on our next trip to York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonboy_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for a lovely review, Jonathan, and it was good to see you and Julie again.We try to treat our guests as we'd like to be treated ourselves, and hopefully the number of repeat visits which we get ( around 35% of our guests have been before) gives some credence to that.
We're glad that you appreciated the high speed fibre optic broadband which we've invested in. It certainly speeds things up, so we can all spend less time just waiting for a response from our laptops/phones/tablets, etc.
We hope to see you both again when you're next up in York.
All the best
Steve and Tricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed for just one night with my teenage daughter, while attending an open day at the university. From Steve's initial friendly, informative greeting to Tricia's delicious booked breakfast, we couldn't have been more satisfied. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate, with many nice little touches that you would only expect in a top 5* hotel. And to top it all, we had the pleasure of meeting the family Yorkshire Terrier, a real character who showed us his toy duck. Will definitely stay again when in York.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews