We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #2 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Binbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a long overdue review as we have now stayed at the Bloomsbury three times in the last couple of years which is an indication of just how good this B&B is. Tricia and Steve are the most perfect hosts and nothing seems to be too much trouble. We have been welcomed like old friends on each occasion which has made the stay even more memorable. The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts top notch, with plenty to feast your eyes and hungry tums on! A pleasant 15 minute walk alongside the river (or main road if you prefer) takes you straight into the city.There really is no need to look anywhere else than the Bloomsbury for your trip to York.

We'd like to say thankyou to you both for such a wonderful B&B and hope you enjoyed your well deserved holiday. Hope to return later this year, most likely at Christmas when York really does become a magical place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dimps72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
550
37
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second trip to the Bloomsbury and to York prior to Christmas this year. Tricia and Steve and Harley the dog make you feel so welcome and you are able to treat this place like home, The rooms are lovely, the food is excellent, great location and easy to get in and out of York. We stay in Premier Inns a lot but this is in a different league.

I cannot recommend this enough. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all lovely, there is no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

On our second trip to the magical city of York we had the pleasure of choosing The Bloomsbury for our stay.
The Bloomsbury exceeded every expectation we had. From the most welcoming of hosts (thanks Steve and Trish!) , generous room, brilliant shower (wish I could have taken it home with me!), fresh and filling breakfast that catered for my dietary allergies, the most perfect suggestions for day trips and the best places to eat as well as comfortable bed as well as off road parking .. Such amazing value for money!
The Bloomsbury is so well positioned with an easy walk into York ..
Would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to anyone. And hope we get the chance to return as well.
( P.S.....Keep an eye out on Trish`s "Narnina" garden!)

Room Tip: All rooms have colour theme.. Would not hesitate to stay in any..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyJane71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My family of five had just had the pleasure of staying at the Bloomsbury for three nights. From the point of booking the rooms, communication via email with Steve was excellent and clear and instructions on how to get there were faultless.

Steve also gave us an excellent rate on our Stay, and that was an added bonus! We had initially booked a family room and a double, but on arrival, Steve gave us another double room to give us more space, how kind and thoughtful of him! Most gracious!

The location is along a busy main street leading up to the minster, about a 15 minute walk, with some interesting shops along the way, not difficult, even when we were walking back from the center of York in temperatures -3deg celcius.

The rooms were beautifully appointed and the bed was nice and comfy. The toilets were nice and modern and branded body wash and shampoo were provided. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in your room should you feel the urge for refreshment.

Steve and Tricia were excellent hosts, friendly and full of information of what to see and do. Steve was really friendly and helpful when we wanted to take a day trip out of York. The staff were also really friendly and nice.

Breakfast was excellent, with a nice selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereals to start and an excellent full English Breakfast to follow. Large succulent mushrooms done to perfection, small tomatoes still on the vine but nicely cooked, lean bacon and excellent sausages. It makes me want to go back just to eat the breakfast. Coffee was served in a French press, not one of those from a coffee machine. I would say that this was the best English breakfast I had ever had.

They also have a delightful Yorkshire terrier Harvey who loved to play with the guests. My kids loved to play with him and his toy duck!

Other tips:
Take a scenic walk by the river into town, it was a pretty scene, with the frost and fog on that cold winter morning.
York is rather compact, there are plenty of places to have tea, shop and view the walls and sights. Explore every street, you'll never know what's around the corner!

You really shouldn't stay elsewhere in York!


Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DrChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights, hosts are fantastic, great rooms lovely atmosphere and great breakfasts. Rooms are very clean, great value for money
A great location jusr .8 of a mile from York centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Bloomsbury is fantastic place to stay on every level, so believe everything you read in these reviews. It really is that good ! Don't bother to look elsewhere this is the best B&B in York without a shadow of a doubt. We will definitely be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our Sons had booked The Bloomsbury as a 25th Wedding Anniversary surprise. Couldn't better this guest house. Very freindly, Tricia and Steve were the perfect hosts. Really beautiful house, well appointed comfortable and spotlessly clean room with everything you need.
Great breakfasts, with plenty of choice. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Jo and Steve
It was lovely meeting you both. We'll soon know all the family:)
It's always great to get reviews like this, and even better when the booking comes about because your son booked it for your anniversary, as a result of him and his wife enjoying their time here recently. It pleases us to know that they had faith in us helping to make this special anniversary more special!
- We hope your dog didn't miss you both too much......
Warm regards
Tricia and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,202 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
387 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 127 Clifton, York YO30 6BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Guest House, sympathetically restored to its former grandeur in a leafy part of York, within easy walking distance of the centre. Tastefully decorated with quality furnishings. All rooms have flat screen TVs with freeview. With a 4* Silver rating, a Breakfast Award and hosts Matthew and Paul doing all they can to enhance your stay. You are assured of a great time at The Bloomsbury. Free parking and free high speed internet access. The Bloomsbury is proud winner of the 2016 Visit York B&B of the Year Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bloomsbury Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing