We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great.....but be careful what you choose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filmore and Union

Filmore and Union
Ranked #103 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Filmore and Union we have a huge passion for fresh, vibrant and healthy foods. Energizing breakfasts; inspirational lunches; wholesome suppers all made daily within our cool relaxed setting. F or dinner join us in our upstairs restaurant and maybe try the seared salmon with chilli, lime paprika, lemongrass and ginger on a bed of harissa potatoes and lentils all made with love and care from our open kitchen. Reservations advised. All day fabulous Sunday brunch, kids menu, fully licenced & Wi-Fi. The street level Deli offers bagels, salads, delicious juices, hearty soups & pastas as well as healthy cakes (even our chocolate brownies!)
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great.....but be careful what you choose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Went with a bunch of friends. Restaurant was empty, probably as a result of pavement level entrance being a cafe - not evident there's a restaurant upstairs.

Knowledgeable, helpful and friendly Californian waitress. Despite being empty, ambiance pleasant.

Menu quite limited but interesting. As a vegetarian, chose the one available option from both starter and main course options. In both cases, really tasty and beautifully prepared and presented.

What prevents an "excellent" is that my friends were much much less impressed with food presentation and quality.....

Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Public Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for visiting Filmore - we are glad you enjoyed it and slighty disappointed that your friends didn't as much.
We ensure that our staff are warm, friendly and provide great customer service.
We are developing our valentines menu so hopefully you and your friends may give us another shot to prove how great we can be.

Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    154
    59
    50
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic setting and the food was amazing. We were a large group and had many different dishes. The steak was cooked to perfection, the duck was also cooked perfectly, the vegetarian option looked so good!! You pay for quality and it was the best quality food around. Thank You we had a fantastic time

Helpful?
Thank Stanley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Super food in fine surrounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A super little find. A small restaurant in heart of York, The restaurant is upstairs of a cafe and quite small but cosy, You can see the food being prepared. Service was excellent and attentive. Good but small choice of menu when we went (Christmas menu). Had a starter with king prawn which was very tasty, if a little small . Main courses were fantastic. i had the best hake ever in a superb sauce whilst my wife had a really tasty duck dish. good dish full of potatoes also to share complemented the mains. Although the sweet was a little bland it was a very enjoyable dining experience. Even the Earl Grey tea tasted different and better

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Public Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for visiting Filmore and for writing such a great review on us! We are so glad you enjoyed your meal, we are in the process of developing our Valentines menu so it gives you another excuse to bring your wife to Filmore, we are also offering £10 off our Al a Carte menu until the end of January.

Our coffee and tea (including the earl grey) is our own blend - glad we have your approval.

Hope to see you again soon.

Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best food 'to go' in. York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

F&Y provides great food served by genuinely friendly people. The single downside is the high price but I keep going back as you get quality each time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteQYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Railway experience - York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The coffees I've tried have all been very good & hot, if a little expensive. The food on offer always looks fantastic. Will have to try your restaurant in York.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Valentine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Guest Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for visiting Filmore in York station - I hope you have found some time to try our restaurant on Low Petergate, we are in the process of developing our Valentines menu if there is a special someone in your life.

Our coffee is our own organic brand as is everything else that we produce - we are also opening in Newcastle train station shortly so hopefully we will see you again soon.

Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filmore and Union also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Filmore and Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing