We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely family holiday in York”

Review of Mallard Flat

Mallard living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
140 reviews
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Mallard main bathroom
Mallard: en suite shower
Mallard: outside area
Hall
Dining table
Dining area
Jacky's tub ...
A leisurely al fresco coffee
Kitchen area
Hall
Hall
Hall
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 140 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely family holiday in York”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We went with our two toddlers, so having a ground floor flat in a quiet area near the centre of York and a stone's throw away from the Railway Museum was absolutely perfect for us. Definitely one of the best family holidays we've had. The pouring rain on the second day didn't get to us, we merely ran to the Railway Museum and spent the entire morning there and had lunch at one of the Railway Museum's many cafes. There was fresh bread, butter, and milk in the fridge as well, which was lovely, especially as we arrived in the evening. Would highly recommend, we had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supermann...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini break in York”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here for mini break and was really pleased with Mallard Flat. Simon met us at the flat and showed us around, kindly left milk, butter,bread and general supplies. Flat was clean and tidy with plenty of room for 3 adults and a 5 year old. Great location, 5 mins from railway museum and 15 to town. If didn't want to walk into town number 10 bus outside museum and only costs £1 into centre of York. Couldn't ask for a more ideal flat.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal base for trip to York”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

5 minute walk to the Railway Museum and 10-15 minutes walk into York City Centre. Very clean and comfortable flat. Simon welcomed us on arrival and showed us round. Fully equipped kitchen. Bread, milk and butter provided. Lots of little extras. Flat felt safe at night and was very quiet.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki R
Alton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Conveniently located and modern, comfortable flat.”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had easy access to the City centre based here which meant not using the car and getting plenty of exercise. The flat was a very welcome, cosy place to come back to. Kitchen is fully stocked for self-catering, good sized bedrooms and handy having en-suite.
Booking the flat was easy and we were kept updated at all times. Good, consistent communication made us feel secure about paying deposit and rental.
Simon met us at the flat, easy parking and lots of information about things to do. The flat is also 2 minutes walk from the National Rail Museum, even if you're not crazy about trains it is really worth visiting. I feel we managed to fit in a lot during our stay and have very good memories of a beautiful City.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regalsnip...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This apartment is perfect for a short stay in York, about a 10 minute easy walk into the centre. Even closer to the railway museum and station, just a 5 minute stroll.
The apartment spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped, even arrived to bread milk and butter.
Special thanks to Simon for being so accommodating with arrival and departure times. Can't recommend this apartment enough.
A perfect stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi F
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb 'home-from-home', with brilliant access to a wonderul city.”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband and I initially found the flat as we were looking for somewhere near to the National Railway Museum for us and our two boys, aged 4 and 1.

On arrival we had a very friendly greeting and tour of the flat. The flat itself is beautifully furnished and has everything you could possibly need. I enjoy cooking, and the fully equipped kitchen was brilliant, as were the ready-stocked essentials - there was tea, coffee, butter, bread, milk etc. all ready for our arrival. Having two small children, this was great - no emergency dash to the shops required. The washer / dryer was also very handy, having two little children who seem to keep clothes clean for all of seconds.

The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. It was great that the boys had a space to play in their bedroom, so often not the case in second bedrooms. The whole flat was warm and comfortable, and I might add spotlessly clean. There is plenty of storage space, which is great when you don't want to feel like you're living out of a suitcase.

The location is superb - you have the benefit of designated parking, and it is close enough to the city centre that we could enjoy an evening stroll along the walls, or doing a tour of the city's many fine bridges (a passion of my younger son).

We will shortly be booking our next stay. We cannot thank Richard and his team enough - it really did feel like home for a week, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Gigi, we're delighted that you enjoyed the flat so much, and that you've already booked for next summer!

Best wishes,

Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djscms
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very comfortable and well appointed accommodation.
Owners have thought of everything. Good location with an easy walk to the centre of York.
Great to have a parking space near the centre.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing