We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location”

Review of Mallard Flat

Mallard living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Mallard main bathroom
Mallard: en suite shower
Mallard: outside area
Hall
Dining table
Dining area
Jacky's tub ...
A leisurely al fresco coffee
Kitchen area
Hall
Hall
Hall
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
regalsnip...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This apartment is perfect for a short stay in York, about a 10 minute easy walk into the centre. Even closer to the railway museum and station, just a 5 minute stroll.
The apartment spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped, even arrived to bread milk and butter.
Special thanks to Simon for being so accommodating with arrival and departure times. Can't recommend this apartment enough.
A perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi F
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb 'home-from-home', with brilliant access to a wonderul city.”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband and I initially found the flat as we were looking for somewhere near to the National Railway Museum for us and our two boys, aged 4 and 1.

On arrival we had a very friendly greeting and tour of the flat. The flat itself is beautifully furnished and has everything you could possibly need. I enjoy cooking, and the fully equipped kitchen was brilliant, as were the ready-stocked essentials - there was tea, coffee, butter, bread, milk etc. all ready for our arrival. Having two small children, this was great - no emergency dash to the shops required. The washer / dryer was also very handy, having two little children who seem to keep clothes clean for all of seconds.

The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. It was great that the boys had a space to play in their bedroom, so often not the case in second bedrooms. The whole flat was warm and comfortable, and I might add spotlessly clean. There is plenty of storage space, which is great when you don't want to feel like you're living out of a suitcase.

The location is superb - you have the benefit of designated parking, and it is close enough to the city centre that we could enjoy an evening stroll along the walls, or doing a tour of the city's many fine bridges (a passion of my younger son).

We will shortly be booking our next stay. We cannot thank Richard and his team enough - it really did feel like home for a week, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Gigi, we're delighted that you enjoyed the flat so much, and that you've already booked for next summer!

Best wishes,

Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djscms
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very comfortable and well appointed accommodation.
Owners have thought of everything. Good location with an easy walk to the centre of York.
Great to have a parking space near the centre.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussibuys
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location for York - with parking!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Accommodation - the double and 2 singles layout is much better than double plus sofa beds elsewhere - plus it means the open plan lounge/kitchen/diner is usable!! Comfortable and simple, ground floor a bonus. Parking space is like gold dust in York - with this place you simply park up, use your legs and hey presto you're in the Shambles, on the walls or in the shops in literally 10 minutes!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette T
1 review
“Good access if you have mobility needs.”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just come back from a stay in York. And we stayed at the Mallard, it is a great place to stay for York centre, and the surrounding areas. The best part was the fact my brother has to use an electric scooter and he could get into York it self without any problems ( we were a bit worried he might have had problems) and he could go to the national train museum on his own as it is just across the road. The flat is excellent, very comfortable, on the ground floor, no steps up the main door, and flat entrance to the flat. Thank you for a great stay Richard and Simon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Jan, that's good to hear. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Mallard Flat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWC1964
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern flat a just 10 minutes walk from the Minster”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Mallard flat is a wonderfully equipped, spotless and tastefully decorated modern ground floor apartment. It lies a stones throw from the National Railway Museum, with some handy local shops just 3 minutes walk and just 10 minutes from the heart of York City.
Myself, wife, daughter and her friend had a fantastic time time in York and a big part of that was where we stayed. If we return to York as again (which I'm sure we will) the Mallard will definitely be top of our list for accommodation! and a little extra thank you goes out to the house keeper Simon, who kindly posted my daughters coat back to us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felicity...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here over Easter weekend ( 2 adults 2 kids) and were over the moon to discover this place.
It was well equipped, clean and ideally located to explore York.
The owner and housekeeper were very accommodating and we really appreciated the extras that other self catering hosts don't offer.
We will definitely be recommending to our friends and family and hope to return again soon.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing