We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”

Review of Mallard Flat

Mallard living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Mallard main bathroom
Mallard: en suite shower
Mallard: outside area
Hall
Dining table
Dining area
Jacky's tub ...
A leisurely al fresco coffee
Kitchen area
Hall
Hall
Hall
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
chasmag
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 2 friends stayed here during our latest annual trip to the York races.Booking process seamless and received a warm welcome from Chris the housekeeper .
Excellent 2 bedroom ground floor flat ( en suite facility in double bedroom )within 10 mins walk from York railway station and close to the National Railway Museum. Lounge area very comfortable and adjoining kitchen very well equipped.
Flat ideal for our requirements and would highly recommend this base for visitors coming to York

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ comfort of flat
Liked least: Only there for 3 days
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyena
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and homely place to stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at this flat for 3 nights.spotlessly clean and well equipped flat with everything one needs.The owner was very helpful and friendly and quickly responded to all the enquiries via email.The flat is at the ground floor making it easy for us to move around with a push chair and luggages.The flat is at superb location just 3 minutes walk to railway museum. The city centre was also at a walkable distance.The caretaker of the flat is a lovely lady who greeted us and guided us about the flat and places to see around york.We loved every bit of our stay at york and this lovely place added to its charm. We highly recommend this flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGrimm2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, convenient and hassle free”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved it here and so did our three-year-old. It was quiet, spotless, modern and just across the road from the railway museum.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuandRo
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Spotlessly clean, well maintained and fully equipt flat. Short walk to the city centre, much of which can be taken down by the river. We were met by Chris who was very welcoming and helpful, telling us everything we needed to know about the flat and the surrounding area. Close to the station and also with a free marking spot. Good price. All in, highly recommended.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anushaf-d...
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful stay, loved it our son was in love with the railway museum which was just 3 minutes away!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We loved our stay at Mallard flat, and it was close to everything. We walked to the city centre, and came back home in the evening to a warm and very comfortable flat. Everything was clean and Chris was excellent in welcoming us in and showing us everything. We will definitely repeat the holiday in 2 years when we travel next to the UK. Our son loved the Railway museum and the Jorvick museum and dig.
Recommend the apartment to families as a great spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close proximity to the centre of york
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppytige...
york
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Returning to York after 3 years in Melbourne, Still our home town with rented property. Where would we stay? The Mallard was ideal situated perfectly for two teenagers to see their friends, us to visit friends and family.
Chris met us at the Apartment with fresh goods, great start, after a trip up from Cardiff after a wedding. The kids shared the twin bedroom, not a problem.
our double room was a little small to what we are used to, but its only a base to explore the still Fab City of York and its surrounding areas.
On Christmas Eve we bought a few pressies to put under the tree Chris has supplied a lovely idea Thank You for that. We had forgot sellotape, The Mallard had a roll of sellotape!
The Mallard is fully equipped with everything. The washing machine with dryer was perfect, we did not bring a lot from Melbourne.
Stayed for 2 weeks. Quiet, warm, 10 mins walk from the City, Railway Station just around the corner. parking space if you are driving.
York is still a great place we miss its history. The Masons Arms on Feasegate still has great food. The White Swan on Bishopthorpe Road still has a great pint!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonste...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Apartment within walking duistance of City Attractions”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Excellent accommodation. Felt like home from home rather than a rental property. Quiet, exceptionally clean and well looked after. Nice to have some of the essentials for cooking and washing up!! So many rental places are cleaned out by the cleaning staff so to have washing up liquid, oil, jams etc although we bought our own as used to having nothing was a major plus. Chris who looks after property was lovely and could not have been more helpful. Having access to WiFi and a computer was a big bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the City - within 8 mins walk.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing