We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is my favourite place to stay in York as although it's fairly basic it's in such a great location. The staff were efficient and the room was clean. It's close enough to the centre of the city that it's easy to go out and return for a break a couple of times in the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    362
    263
    116
    112
See reviews for
291
423
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed with a group of friends for one night. All staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The all you can eat breakfast was excellent. The location was perfect - bang in the middle of town. Highly recommended for a short stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel could not be better situated for everything you need to enjoy the beautifull city of York, like a previous writer pointed out its literelly a couple of minutes from the centre. we stayed mid - week, so it was very quiet in the hotel itself.We found the staff so helpful, Emaleigh, Kazim,Lucas Gretal Chris and Nauiya were so friendly and cheerful. The only downside was lack of points to plug kettle etc in.The towels were very white and fluffy, the bedding was also very clean. As we only stayed two days we didn't need a lot of space for clothes but a longer stay may cause a problem as there is no wardrobes, just hanging space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights of a weekend (Friday and Saturday night) and must admit when we arrived and we saw the reception and bar full of rowdy stag and hen parties we thought we were in for a nightmare but to be honest as the weekend progressed were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small and basic with a lack of storage space but we managed for the weekend and they are very clean with comfy beds. The top tip I would give would be to take an extension lead or mirror with you because there are no plugs near any of the mirrors which is a nuisance when drying or styling your hair. The stags and hens didn't keep us awake but we were on a different floor to them and the reception staff said they do try and put them all on the same floor to avoid disturbing other guests. The reception and bar can be noisy with them though. The reason for the amount of partygoers is due to the fabulous location. It's a 2 minute walk over the bridge to the centre and the road the hotel is on is something similar to a bar street when you go abroad full of bars, clubs, restaurants and take always but apart from having to walk past the revellers it's not a major problem. According to the staff the week days are totally different to the weekend so if you are looking to avoid the revellers then I suggest you go in the week. The breakfast was very impressive and well worth the extra. Fabulous location for shops, bars and restaurants and staff are very helpful and our requests for and extra duvet and extra towels were dealt with immediately. If you are looking for a cheap break close to the centre of York then you can't go far wrong just don't let the stags and hens put you off.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jellybaby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

All good value, and great location, but beware two things that spoil it:
1. noise in the corridor at 2am, when folk return from clubs on a Friday night
2. no service to store your bags when you check out: nearest 'left luggage' is at the station (and in fact not in the station, but offsite and no signage to find it)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

very clean and comfortable accommodation. staff were friendly and helpful. can walk to nearly all amenities. the room was bright and cheerful. the location was the best deal. parking is off site - but within 5 mins walk.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stopped at Travelodge a few times now both at York and Scarborough and find the hotels very fitting for our needs.
The staff are always friendly and welcoming,the hotels are always spotless,and the beds are very comfortable, the food is first class. Booked again already.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing