We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to clarify”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just to clarify”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Go here each November for Xmas shopping. Its a basic , cheap, city centre hotel. You wont get a better location for the price. Always been no problem at all for me. BUT, i really want to clarify the point on car parking ... i see one review down the page about a "long hike" from the car park ?? I take it you are joking right ? Tanner Row NCP is about 2 minutes away, in fact, you could actually throw a stone from the hotel to the car park its that close. You get a massive discount aswell when u have your ticket validated at reception. I see many reviews about problems car parking and it winds me up cos there is NO issue at all. If you need to know, the car park is out the front door, turn right, right again and its on your left ....... some people need to learn about telling the truth on these reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doobs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    373
    270
    127
    114
See reviews for
299
436
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed here before and on this visit the rooms have been refurbished with new beds which are very comfortable just as they said in the advert.
This hotel is situated right in the middle of the city and is very handy for everywhere and only a ten minute walk from the railway station.
The only letdown was the lack of staff on the bar when we came back in at night we waited for five minutes for someone to come and then gave up and went to the small supermarket next door and bought some wine, probaly saved us several pounds.
There is air conditioning in all the rooms but ours only went down to 19C so we left it off and opened the window which was OK as we were on the rear of the building but had we been on the front it would have been quite noisy.
This is not a hotel for a holiday but ideal for a couple of nights we did not have the breakfast after being disapointed with it the last time but reading other reviews we may try it again the next visit.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quieter than those on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

There were 14 girls who stayed at Travelodge - Very clean hotel, rooms were clean, basic, but ideal for when you are just sleeping and showering! Bathroom very modern and Clean!!!
Drinks in the bar were very expensive though - £4.20 for a bottle of cider!!
I would recommend to stay here as we booked in advance and got very cheap rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is not a good travelodge, even if it was free I just would not stay here again. Our room was very warm and you couldn't turn the air conditioning down so we had to open the window (well once it was unlocked so we could do this). However we had to close the window as it was so noisy with drunken people and traffic (it wasn't even the weekend), even with the window closed it was incredibly noisy so we got no sleep as the noise continued most of the night. When we went down stairs the next day we saw the door of the lodge had been smashed. That aside the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should have been and the shower didn't drain properly. The receptionist was in no hurry to get to the desk and the poor bloke in front of us was stuck on the car park as no one had come to the barrier. The receptionist just said well you just have to wait a while, so glad I was on the train. Not a bad location for shops, only plus side - would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libertinelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear libertinelou. we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We do try to prevent the external noise by providing double glazing and insulated windows so it is regrettable you were disturbed by the noise outside of the hotel. We also expect our rooms to be cleaned to a high standard and for our staff to provide high levels of service during your stay. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is very good near to Bus stops and shops and bars.The room we had was warm and the bed was very comfortable.The staff were very helpful.The breakfast room was very clean and tidy and the breakfast was excellent .The staff were well trained and friendly .My husband was using a wheelchair because he finds walking long distances difficult we had a room on the 2nd floor but found it no problem.
One draw back no car park but reduced rates at the NCP Car Park nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are quiet because they are triple glazed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not a great example of Travelodge. I understand makeovers are happening and this is long, long overdue. I was a late booker with three colleagues; we got the last three rooms, and arrived very late at night. My room was the "easy access" room for people using a wheelchair. This was a poorly maintained room in my opinion. Just because someone uses a wheelchair or has mobility issues, does not warrant a substandard room. Bathroom was grimy to say the least, taps and other fittings stained and poorly maintained, there was a definite pong from the drains. Bed decidedly the most uncomfortable I have slept in and as for the pillows? More like Ryvita biscuit! Again, being a wheelchair user or someone with mobility issues does not mean you are also incontinent....why the incontinence cover on the bed? This cover was quite creased indicating to me that it has not been changed in a long while...I'm afraid I slept on my own towel that night.
Using a wheelchair in a small room does inevitably result in scrapes and bumps in the walls and door ways, but a touch up of the gloss would go a little way to making it let noticeable.
Car parking is a nightmare...I really pity anyone arriving alone and having to risk parking on double yellows outside, checking in and then going on a tour of the one-way system to find the allocated car park and then walking back alone along the streets.
Only saving grace for this hotel? Next door to a pub.
Sorry for poor review but I feel it was necessary

Room Tip: If you need easy access room, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is and great location. Staff were not the friendliest if I am honest but it did the job for a night in York. Good location for shops, pubs and restaurants and found the hotel clean. No shower gel or shampoo which I think is always a bit poor from travelodge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamfraynthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review liamfraynthat. We are sorry to learn the service you received fell below the expectations we would expect. Our staff should be polite and helpful at all times and your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care. Although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms as part of our brand standard, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing