We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
Ranked #14 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just got back today from a long weekend at Naburn Lock Caravan Park. What a lovely site. Ducks with duckings wandering around, birds nesting and singing. Pitches very spacious toilets and showers spotless. Lovely walks along the Lock. Black Smiths Arms 15 minute walk away nice food and very friendly. York Marina do near by do a lovely cake and coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrabrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed on this site many times now, with the weather not looking very good for the first 24hrs of our stay we pitched our tent in the lower field which we was informed would be better for shelter, despite the horrendous weather on the Thursday night/Friday day we loved every minute. The lovely clean toilets & showers, spotless camping fields and of course the owners Peter and Catherine who cannot do enough for you. Thank you for yet another wonderful weekend

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Freindly helpfull staff, clean and tidy site, good pitches, plenty of room, well maintained toilet block, and great location. Lovely walks along the river, great pub with food and children friendly in Village (only a 5 min walk), Buses from outside site, and 5 mins drive to the shopping outlet where you can get the park and ride £5.20 for two adults return and children free.
Will definitely come back to thsi lovely site, one of the best!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

New to camping, I was hoping to persuade my five-star-hotel-loving husband to embrace the experience. This was the second site we stayed in - he refused to use the showers in the first one, which were far too rustic for his tastes, but the heated block, with powerful clean showers and music playing met with his approval! We arrived in our rented motor home and were settled quickly into a quiet pitch, handy for all facilities. The site was lovely and quiet (Easter temperatures not quite what we hoped for) and the information given at the shop was great. We took the park and ride from the nearby Outlet mall to the centre of York, cheap and easy. Recommend the Plough Inn for a lovely dinner, their resident cat is a delight. We will be back. If only every campsite was like this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSmiley_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We go to this site about eight times a year. We just love the peace and quiet. The couple that run it are a lovely couple and are always pleased to see us. They are also very helpful if you have any problems. The pitches are really big and the hard standing ones are fantastic loads f room. This is a site that I recommend to a lot of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This will be our sixth time of stopping here...once in a large motorhome others in a twin axle caravan. great facilities with well disciplined noise policy after 11. If you want clean nice facilities and a warm welcome look no further. Pub along the road serves good food and ale if you cant be bothered cooking.

Trev and Pauline Knight

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevK437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband thinks this is the best site we have been too and I must say it is nice! It is a pleasant, quiet site, with the river running nearby.
It is about 4 miles from York, accessible by bus or car, or river taxi.

The available pitches are a mix of hardstanding and grass, we were on a grass pitch and it was pretty level and well tended, with plenty of space around your caravan at the front.
My only bug bare is where you are asked to park your car is at the side of your van, which does bring you VERY close to your neighbours.

The showers and toilet facilities are excellent, clean, well set out, with pugs and mirrors you can actually see in and with the radio playing!

There's no clubhouse etc or facilities for younger children, but the river is nearby and there is space enough for them to play and enjoy themselves. There's an 'adult-only' field too, for extra peace and quiet(next time!!)

There is a very well stocked shop on site and the staff members are friendly and helpful

All of this of course you pay for...so be prepared!There is also a £2:50 charge for visitors which I believe to be unnecessary!

Naburn is a 15 minute walk away along the main road and has an nice, dog-friendly pub, with a pretty interior and nice garden.
To get into York there's a local bus service that operates directly outside the park, however it is £9:00 for a family of 4 return, so it is cheaper to drive in and pay for parking!! The bus was late on the way there and extremely crowded on the way back!
A river-bus service to and from York operates from just outside the site, but it ONLY OPERATES ON SATURDAY'S & SUNDAY'S, leaving at 9:30 ish in the morning, with an added service on Thursday's in the school holidays.
All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mad_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
6.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
878 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 56 in York
863 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
1.8 mi away
Home Farm
Home Farm
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naburn Lock Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naburn Lock Caravan Park

Address: Main Road | Naburn, York YO19 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naburn Lock Caravan Park 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Naburn Lock Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing