We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely modern property.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 4 Galmanhoe Mews

kitchen/Dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen/Dining
Entrance Hall Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
kitchen/Dining
Entrance Hall
Master Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Single Bedroom
First-Floor Double Bedroom
Lounge
House Bathroom
Ground-Floor Double Bedroom
Set Dining Table
Exterior
Enter a caption for your photo
ground floor plan
first floor plan
second floor plan
York Railway Station (5-10 Minute Walk)
Museum Gardens
Museum Gardens
Riverside Walkway
Riverside Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Eliza B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely modern property.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Six of us stayed in early August and had a great time. The house is modern and clean and in an excellent location. Our one gripe is that, as with a lot of modern properties, soundproofing is not too good. There is a lot of creaking as people move about but other than that, a very nice place to stay in York.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious interior
Liked least: The noise as people walked about.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallerite...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal House and Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here with extended family from overseas and Scotland to attend a family Wedding on Sept 21st. The house was delightful, light and airy,well appointed and so conveniently situated for all of York's attractions. The ability to park, the garden area, large kitchen and Wi-Fi made it ideal for accommodating us all comfortably. Australian son in law loved the Real Ale pub just round the corner! Welcome goodies much appreciated. Would love to stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh decor and furnishings. Large airy Kitchen with courtyard garden view.
Liked least: Only a regular double bed in en-suite room. Complicated heating system.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae5219
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a perfect location!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were visiting York as a family to celebrate my dad’s 50th birthday, firstly in organising the stay at the house was so simple with prompt communication from Bev who was very helpful and answered all my questions quickly. When we arrived the house exceeded all our expectations it has everything you would need for a family weekend away and included some lovely free goodies. We all felt very spoilt staying in the house! The location is perfect, we never had to use the car once, and everything you would want to see in York is within walking distance, with plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby. Would highly recommend a stay here and would certainly go back! The house has was spotless with plenty of room for everyone with plenty of bathrooms and wardrobe space. The free wifi was handy too! There are no complaints about the house or our stay in York what so ever. Hopefully be back soon! Thanks Bev :)

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House Location
Liked least: Nothing everything was excellent
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kneeb...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely well appointed townhouse in central location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family of 5 including three teenagers spent 4 nights in this modern well appointed home in mid July on our 3 week European holiday. The place was our favourite stay during our holiday. It was spacious and extremely well appointed with everything you could ask for. The townhouse is in a great location within easy walking distance of central York. Bev was a delight to liase with and was very helpful with all our emails. The only slight issue was that we stayed during a very uncharacteristic heat wave and the upstairs bedrooms were very uncomfortable due to poor ventilation and no fans.
We would have no hesitation recommending this place to friends and family and would love to return

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern spacious home in great location
Liked least: Top rooms didn't handle heat very well
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe70611
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent central location in York”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went to York for our son's university graduation and wanted a central location where we could easily walk to places. The house is next to the beautiful museum gardens and river walk and to all central York amenities. The house is very modern and well equipped although we could have done with some cooling fans in the middle of a heat wave ......

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: House was too warm as it was in the sun all day and all windows closed when we arrived
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at 4 Galmanhoe Mews for a long weekend in York. I can't recommend it highly enough! From the start Bev got back to me promptly, with any questions i had (there were numerous). Nothing was too much trouble. We were fortunate that there was no-one vacating on our arrival date, so we were able to arrive earlier than the 4pm check-in time. The property was beautiful and very high-end. It was also very well equipped. We were impressed with the thoughtful extras, such as a welcome hamper and bottle of fizz chilling in the fridge. We were also impressed with fluffy robes and complimentary cosmetics left out for us. It gave a real pampered feel to the weekend. I have read some of the criticisms left by other reviewers. In terms of the hot water/heating system. We were a group of 6 girls and we all had adequate water to shower twice daily. Only on one occasion did the water turn luke warm, but this was due to a couple of the girls having had a soak in the bath, so we just let it re-heat for half an hour extra and the problem was solved! I would agree with the other reviewer who commented that the instructions for the heating system were very complex and they could do with being simplified. However it wasn't an issue for us, as the house was lovely and warm without the heating on. Also the social club at the back of the property wasn't a problem either, as any noise stopped by midnight but to be honest there wasn't a great deal of noise coming from there anyway! The location of the accommodation was ideal! Very close to the river and gardens and the minster. Only about 5 mins walk. We ended up having a takeaway on one of the nights rather than a meal at a restaurant just because the house was so comfortable and beautiful that we didn't want to leave it! Overall I would definitely return to this property. I can't rate it highly enough!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous kitchen
Liked least: The complex heating/water instructions
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peopleoft...
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Middle of the Action....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

4 Galmanhoe Mews offers supreme upscale comfort, close proximity to all sights, shopping, restaurants and pubs.

With this property, following a long day(s) of sight seeing, you come back to a property that is so comfortable you feel as though your in a luxury home.

From the second floor living room to the gourmet kitchen to outstanding bathrooms this house is outstanding.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Proximity to York.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing