We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely well appointed townhouse in central...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 4 Galmanhoe Mews

kitchen/dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway
lounge
exterior
ensuite bedroom
house bathroom
ground floor plan
first floor plan
second floor plan
bedroom first floor
single bedroom
ensuite
ground floor bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Riverside walkway
Enter a caption for your photo
York Minster-5 minutes walk
York Railway Station - just 5-10minutes walk
The Museum Gardens
Museum Gardens- over the road
River Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
The_Kneeb...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely well appointed townhouse in central location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family of 5 including three teenagers spent 4 nights in this modern well appointed home in mid July on our 3 week European holiday. The place was our favourite stay during our holiday. It was spacious and extremely well appointed with everything you could ask for. The townhouse is in a great location within easy walking distance of central York. Bev was a delight to liase with and was very helpful with all our emails. The only slight issue was that we stayed during a very uncharacteristic heat wave and the upstairs bedrooms were very uncomfortable due to poor ventilation and no fans.
We would have no hesitation recommending this place to friends and family and would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern spacious home in great location
Liked least: Top rooms didn't handle heat very well
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe70611
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent central location in York”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went to York for our son's university graduation and wanted a central location where we could easily walk to places. The house is next to the beautiful museum gardens and river walk and to all central York amenities. The house is very modern and well equipped although we could have done with some cooling fans in the middle of a heat wave ......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: House was too warm as it was in the sun all day and all windows closed when we arrived
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at 4 Galmanhoe Mews for a long weekend in York. I can't recommend it highly enough! From the start Bev got back to me promptly, with any questions i had (there were numerous). Nothing was too much trouble. We were fortunate that there was no-one vacating on our arrival date, so we were able to arrive earlier than the 4pm check-in time. The property was beautiful and very high-end. It was also very well equipped. We were impressed with the thoughtful extras, such as a welcome hamper and bottle of fizz chilling in the fridge. We were also impressed with fluffy robes and complimentary cosmetics left out for us. It gave a real pampered feel to the weekend. I have read some of the criticisms left by other reviewers. In terms of the hot water/heating system. We were a group of 6 girls and we all had adequate water to shower twice daily. Only on one occasion did the water turn luke warm, but this was due to a couple of the girls having had a soak in the bath, so we just let it re-heat for half an hour extra and the problem was solved! I would agree with the other reviewer who commented that the instructions for the heating system were very complex and they could do with being simplified. However it wasn't an issue for us, as the house was lovely and warm without the heating on. Also the social club at the back of the property wasn't a problem either, as any noise stopped by midnight but to be honest there wasn't a great deal of noise coming from there anyway! The location of the accommodation was ideal! Very close to the river and gardens and the minster. Only about 5 mins walk. We ended up having a takeaway on one of the nights rather than a meal at a restaurant just because the house was so comfortable and beautiful that we didn't want to leave it! Overall I would definitely return to this property. I can't rate it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous kitchen
Liked least: The complex heating/water instructions
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peopleoft...
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Middle of the Action....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

4 Galmanhoe Mews offers supreme upscale comfort, close proximity to all sights, shopping, restaurants and pubs.

With this property, following a long day(s) of sight seeing, you come back to a property that is so comfortable you feel as though your in a luxury home.

From the second floor living room to the gourmet kitchen to outstanding bathrooms this house is outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Proximity to York.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPhis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in York”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend with family, house is very well equipped and laid out.
Felt very comfortable, was like a home from home, so much so that we stayed in to cook and eat rather than go out on a couple of the nights of our stay. DVD's library, Games, TV and Wifi were all excellent.
There were some very nice goodies left, (thank you) i've stayed in some 5 * hotels which offered less, and some nice touches like tablets for the dishwasher.
Having read a previous review about the water, we had as a family of 7 no problem whats so ever.
Location is superb as is the parking for two cars. The only downside is there's a social club at the back, where the members come out to smoke and are quite rowdy, this spoilt what would be otherwise an A* perfect venue, however i shall return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The Noise from the social club out back
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulV844
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb house, with one big problem for 7 adults”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is a beautiful house, well equipped, with parking for two cars and only minutes walk to the Minster area of York. There is a great '1950s' drinking style pub only seconds walk away, The Minster, who serve the most fantastic real ale.
My one and only issue is with the heating and hot water, or to put it another way, the lack of hot water and heating when you need it.
We stayed during a VERY cold spell and the heating and water is on a pre-set timer, which you need a degree in electrical engineering to understand and change, and when you think you've figured it out, well think again.
We were 7 adults who wished to shower (DON'T EVEN THINK OF TRYING TO USE THE BATH'S) in a morning and before going out to dinner in the evening, which when you rent a house for 7 adults you think is a reasonable thing to do. What we found is sufficient water in the tank for 2 or 3 showers then not enough to wash up after breakfast (we had to boil the kettle to do that).
We reported this to the Management company who suggested leaving 30 mins between showers (I work that out at 3.5 hours for the party to shower in a morning!!, a great use of your time when in York for just 3 nights). In such a modern property I can't understand why there is not a combi boiler so hot water on demand. (I was told it was a tank because it also used solar heating, which is a nice idea, but not in a property let to 7 adults)
Apart from this, I must say that this is a great property and would recommend to a family of 4.(I did email the management company asking for their comments but have not to date received a reply)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, well furnished
Liked least: Poor heating/hot water
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic York rental”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Having stayed many times in York in everything from high end apartments to quality hotels & B&B's we finally discovered 4 Galmanhoe mews which is without a doubt the very best. Superb location, luxurious, spacious accommodation & excellent service. The house is immaculate - extremely well equipped & with the added bonus of parking (such a rarity in York). Only minutes on foot from the Minster & the lovely Museaum gardens the location doesn't get much better than this & the handy convenience store nearby means that you really don't need a car. Our family was extremely comfortable here. Loved the selection of games, books & DVD's & the welcome basket of goodies. Great toiletries, lots of fluffy towells & bathrobes - all the plusses of a great hotel but with the freedom & space of your own house. Definitely the very best self-catering property we have found in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space & Luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing