We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foss Bank Guest House
Ranked #15 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another great stay this summer, forget the rest and definitely try the best B&B in York ! Well done Kevin - a fantastic host once again with great hospitality and a warm welcome. Great location for York city centre and surrounding attractions & an ideal base to explore from particularly after one of Kevin's great breakfasts. We will return !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dupiaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
213
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our secon visit to foss bank and it did not disappoint, amazing breakfast and amazing room, completely spotless and comfortable. I would highly recommend to any body thinking of coming to York to book a room at foss bank for the best experience in York.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriseyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A great B and B only 10 minutes from the centre of York. Fantastic service and attention to detail. Breakfast was great. Kevin was very helpful and recommended places for us to see and do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Curteous and friendly owner,cooks a really hearty english breakfast.Nice lounge to relax in.Room was quite large and it was the smallest apparently,comfortable double bed with lovely ironed sheets so the wife says.Shower in the room also washbasin,both clean and tidy,toilet out on next landing but no problem for one night.Nice ensuite rooms much larger but we booked late.5mins walking approx to city centre,good free parking at rear of property.My wife and i will book again as my daughter lives in York and Kevin made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bispham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived for a weekend in york,and had a lovely welcome from kevin who was charming,helpful and very freindly.Our room was lovely we had a comfortable bed,we had a shower and sink in the room,we did have to go to the toilet down the corridoor but we didnt mind that at all.The breakfast was lovely a good choice of breakfast foods and the service was very prompt.Within a ten minute walk into york centre , we will definitely visit this b+b again.

Room Tip: if possible ask for a room at the rear of the property as there is road noise to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughter and I together with her six year old son arrived at Foss Bank and were met by Kevin who was the perfect host.. He helped us to our room with our luggage and gave us helpful information of things to do in York. Breakfast was lovely and nothing too much trouble for Kevin. We were made to feel very welcome and would certainly return to Foss Bank.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 as this room had a double and single bed. We were quite satisfied and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannieberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first time at this guest house and we would certainly stay again. After directing us into the rear car park, Kevin assisted us with luggage and took us up to our room. It had everything we would expect, was comfortable and thoughtfully, given the present hot weather, had been provided with an electric fan. Breakfast was nicely done with good options. We thought the decor could possibly do with a bit of refresh here and there, but certainly nothing whatever to complain about and it was all spolessly clean. The guest house is located a short walk from Monkgate and the city wall, so very easy access to York city centre. We were there for the races and would recommend booking a taxi from the house to the course and, if you know the finish time, one back again. Otherwise you will wait a long time after hours at the race course.

Room Tip: If you can maybe one at the rear. The front overlooks a busy road which is noisy with the windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 192 in York
1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 192 in York
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foss Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foss Bank Guest House

Property: Foss Bank Guest House
Address: 16 Huntington Road, York YO31 8RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Foss Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foss Bank Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing