We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foss Bank Guest House
Ranked #15 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“spot on”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

just back from york and stayed at foss bank guest house what a great place to stay the room and house wer spotless we stayed in room one it was just so good everthing spot on and kev was just a great bloke nothing was to much trouble for him and his full breakfast was just so good could have eaten two if i was not to full from the first one we had a joke between us i would call him Mr kev he called me Mr keith there is a pub around the cornner the prices are very good we called every nite. the minster is well in walking i would say 10 mins looking foward to going back later on this year .

Room Tip: we stayed in room one very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
212
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is a lovely guest house by the river a few minutes walk to the centre of York and parking available. The room was spacious, well fitted out and with a modern en suite shower room. It was all very clean and comfortable with a good choice of breakfast which was well cooked and the proprietor Kev is very friendly and competent. Altogether a very enjoyable and relaxing place to stay and I would happily recommend it to anyone. Sue Simpson.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playtrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Foss Bank and the room we stayed in has just been refurbished to an extremely high standard. Beautiful fixtures and fittings and everywhere in the guesthouse is sparklingly clean. Very warm welcome from the owner, Kevin, who served us tea and biscuits in the lounge before we went back outside to explore more of what York has to offer. Very nice hospitality tray in the bedroom, all the little comforts that you could possibly want, and a superb breakfast to top it all. Plenty of information brochures in the lounge and any questions that you may have about the city and it's events or surroundings and Kevin was happy to answer. This was our second visit to Foss Bank and will not be the last. See you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just returned from 2 nights at this comfortable guest house. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was excellent. We received a warm, friendly welcome from Kevin the owner, tea & biscuits & tips & advice if you wanted it. The room was immaculate, as was the entire building. The breakfast was tasty, the service was friendly. Kevin was very accommodating & very helpful. Great location, just a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of York. I will definitely be staying here when I next visit York. Thank you Kevin

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisgya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I were fortunate to get a room for one night at the Foss Bank on short notice the second weekend in November. Ordinarily, there is a minimum 2-night stay on weekends, but we took advantage of a last-minute cancellation of one night.
We came by train from London and took a cab to the Foss Bank. The location was excellent - a short 10 minute walk to one of the gates into the historic area - and the price very reasonable. We received a warm welcome from Kevin - tea and biscuits in the small parlor while he took our bags upstairs. The room and ensuite bath, while not luxurious, was spotlessly clean. A delicious English breakfast was served in the cheerful and sunny downstairs dining room. My husband's vegetarian preference was accommodated without issue.
Staying at the Foss Bank was a lovely way to experience York and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Just the right mix of being helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Really lovely touch to be met with the offer of a drink. I don't like tea or coffee so it was very nice to have my request for hot chocolate met with a friendly smile (I've had so many places reply with a grumble, I'd pretty much given up asking for the option, but Kevin seemed so approachable I took a chance!)

The room was far bigger than I expected, with an area where you could sit and a separate table set out as a dressing table complete with makeup remover pads. Wonderfully roomy and comfy bed. Quality linen and bed room furniture. The techgeek in me salivated over all the input options for the large flatscreen TV (ah if only I'd brought a USB external hard drive with me).

Though we were on the front, the road noise was not an issue. Great to be able to have free, offstreet car parking. It's a good location, especially for the Minster. If, like me, you usually walk everywhere it's far less than a 10 minute walk to town. If you don't, it's certainly no more than 10 minutes either! ;)

The only flaw I could find (and it's so minor it's laughable) is that having made the perfect area for doing makeup - with the mirror at the right height and everything - the light there isn't terribly bright. The light and mirror in the bathroom are perfectly fine so it poses no problem. I only mention it as you get the impression they're striving for 110% and so they might find that feedback helpful?!

We would certainly stay there again. Since the Minster decided to be closed for university graduation ceremonies the whole time we were there (mid-November), that might be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueD0nym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Friendly but not intrusive hosts. Very comfortable, spacious room. At the back of the house we were woken by birdsong so very peaceful. Excellent breakfast. Very short walk to city centre. Will definitely return. A little gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foss Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foss Bank Guest House

Property: Foss Bank Guest House
Address: 16 Huntington Road, York YO31 8RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Foss Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foss Bank Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing