We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #22 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the B&B as I was visiting York University early the next morning and wanted to beat the traffic. Was met by the owner who sorted my free parking for me. He was very welcoming and made my stay very pleasant indeed. The B&B itself was really clean and comfortable; the breakfast was delicious. Lots of tea & coffee in room too. Lovely B&B and great staff. Cannot fault it. Can thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Will visit again.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor and the stairs may be a problem if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcpenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    87
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
236
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were welcomed by Nigel and Wendy on a cold evening and it was like staying with friends. Wendy gave us plenty of information about how to get around and what to see in York and nothing was too much to ask. The room was nice, clean and cosy and the breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again no questions!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Russell.Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place (York Centre). It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed an overnight stay in this very presentable, warm and inviting guest house. Wendy and Nigel were very friendly, helpful and keen to ensure that we had a good experience. Our room was compact but clean, with all the essentials and comfortable beds. Their commitment to catering for people with different dietary requirements deserves commendation, especially when even the 'bigger names' fall short of providing a personal service. We enjoyed a substantial and tasty vegan breakfast of fruit juice, cereals, soya milk, vegan sausage, mushrooms, tomato and beans, toast with dairy free spread and preserves. Flexibility regarding check in time was appreciated and the location was excellent as we enjoyed the short but scenic riverside walk into town. Thanks again for your hospitality, tailor-made service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having stayed at Chelmsford Place on a previous occasion, we decided to celebrate our 43rd wedding aniversary there and were not disappointed. We were again made to feel very welcome by Wendy and Nigel. Our en-suite room was clean and comfortable, and our breakfasts were very well cooked and presented. The guest house is, conveniently, within easy walking distance to the city centre, handy at our age, with our car at rest close to the property on a "permit" parking zone while we took in the pleasures of York once again. Thankyou Wendy and Nigel, see you next year.
Margaret & Graham, North Wales.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi Graham.Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place (York Centre). It was lovely to see you both again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Amazing Hosts, we even had a phone commentary directing us into town right to the front door on the evening of our arrival. Our hosts really do go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Excellent breakfast, great room and location is excellent. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Wendy and nigel run a very cosy , friendly and warm guest house. Very much worth every penny. informative and helpful, wendy will explain how to get to places and how long it will take.
Anything you want for breakfast they have. Lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickyvikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Would recommend anyone to stay here. Nigel and Wendy were lovely and helpful and make a great breakfast! Room was absolutely spotless and enjoyed a hot chocolate and biscuits in bed curtesy of the tea and coffee facilities in the room. Everything was literally 5 mins walk away including the museums and nice restaurants. 5* :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Jade.Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place (York Centre). It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing