We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure choice - good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #25 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sure choice - good choice!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everytime I come here, I know I made a good choice. Everything is well organised and the hosts are a great help with anything you need. Big breakfast between 8-9 can be arranged to earlier times, if needed. The rooms are well equipped and stocked with fresh supplies of tea and hot chocolate. Towels and linen smell very nice too.

Room Tip: No 5 a large family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi Jan. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    87
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
243
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and we really enjoyed our time. We had a double room with en suite. Bed is comfortable, breakfast is good. Very helpful people. Good wifi access and car parking. It's walking distance to centre. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alper A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Chelmsford Place. Nigel and Wendy were so helpful and made us feel very welcome with our 2 year old little boy. Room was lovely,breakfast delicious!! Thank you for a lovely stay. We will be returning in the future. Hannah,Stuart and Oliver

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEP154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Hannah,Stuart and Oliver
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place (York Centre). It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lovely place to stay and Wendy and Nigel very helpfull with our stay. They couldnt do enough to help us fantastic location an supportive throughout. Both Nigel and Wendy had a thourough subject knowledge o f the local area, to support this a vast qauntity of leaflets to provide us with possible visits avaiable. loved it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Tony
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here as the guest house we usually stay in was booked however I'm glad we did Wendy and Nigel were lovely incredibly attentive and the rooms and everywhere in the guest house were immaculate. I couldn't possibly fault anything the breakfast was also tasty and was filling also. I would recommend chelmsford place to anyone and will be definitely going back there without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhugheslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Sam.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nigel and Wendy were wonderful hosts and very helpful with information and recommendations on York. This B&B is located in a good location just a short 5-10 minute walk into town. We would definitely recommend staying here if you are in York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Ashley, Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again. Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Chelmsford Place! The breakfast was excellent and they seamlessly provided gluten free for us, including gluten free biscuits in the room, which was great. They were friendly and attentive to our requests. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Peter

We are pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review.We offer a full coeliac range of foods as well as vegan and vegetarian breakfasts.

Hope to see you again next time you visit York.

Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#39 of 192 in York
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
1.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 192 in York
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#73 of 192 in York
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing