We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #22 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A nice place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Chelmsford Place! The breakfast was excellent and they seamlessly provided gluten free for us, including gluten free biscuits in the room, which was great. They were friendly and attentive to our requests. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Peter

We are pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review.We offer a full coeliac range of foods as well as vegan and vegetarian breakfasts.

Hope to see you again next time you visit York.

Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    87
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
236
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

my girlfriend and i stayed for 2 nights lovely welcome from wendy. i think she would be a wonderful tour guide very helpful nice breakfast clean rooms overall very good very reasonable prices. thank you wendy nigel . steve ruth edwards stayed 17 / 19 sept 12

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Steve
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one night with friend whilst on cycling holiday. We stayed in room with seperate toilet and shower on same landing, which was stated at time of booking. This was no problem however as the facilities were very close to our room and bath robes are provided in your room.
Proprietors were very accommodating and were able to store our cycles securely for the night. About 10 minute walk to city centre along river bank so was excellent location for us. Excellent breakfast and friendly efficient service from waitress.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Gary,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place. It was lovely to meet you and your friend and we hope to see you again.

Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in this guest house which was recommended to us by family. Had a lovely stay. breakfast was great and more than enough. The owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms very clean, etc. We can't fault this hotel and can't understand why anybody would give it les than 4 star review for a stay. Would definately recommend to anyone looking for a clean, reasonable guest house in York!

Room Tip: parking included in the price, which is an absolute must when travelling to York by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again.

Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We couldn't have found a better place to stay during our 4 nights in York last week! What an incredible value to have parking, wireless internet and breakfast all included in the fantastic rate. These inclusions are very hard to find so they were much appreciated. Our room was on the top floor and was lovely - plenty of space and very clean. Wendy and Nigel were very accommodating if we needed some type of breakfast earlier than the usual time, and we thoroughly enjoyed the full English breakfast the two days that we had time for it. It was a pleasure to have Julie serve us our breakfast for a couple of days as well, she was great! Wendy and Nigel were always available to answer questions if we asked, and we were supplied with a lot of good information upon our arrival. They are very gracious hosts and we enjoyed our stay. The location was good as well - less than a 10 minute walk to downtown along the river. I recommend the Chelmsford Place highly! And Nigel, thank you for the tip on Chatworth House. We stopped on our way back to London and took in all the garden sights and it was the perfect ending for our trip. Kind regards - Deanna & Tom

Room Tip: 2 rooms do have a shared bathroom, however they have a sink ensuite, so I'd say that wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSV_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Deanna & Tom
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next time you visit York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had an initial friendly conversation with Nigel to make the booking and give payment details in advance.

Was disappointed for a number of reasons that have been commented on previously by others; namely:

Beds were very uncomfortable and didnt make for a great sleep.
Breakfast was not very generous - despite having been told by Nigel about the wealth of gluten free options - he told me about the local butchers & how good the meat was - so I was very hopeful. Breakfast was ok; but when I asked for an extra sausage as I wasnt having mushrooms - he declared to me and the rest of the guests in the dining room that he would have to defrost the extra sausage and that would take an hour !!!!! I declined. Also; my partner had asked for the full breakfast the day before and therefore it was assumed that this was exactly what he would have the next day; so a bit of a delay in having a different item.

Disappointing that breakfast was served so early; particularly at the weekend - seemed to be for the convenience of the owners than guests.

On departure, Wendy appeared to give receipt and I thought it a little unprofessional not to ask how our stay was; no bit deal - but its a nice little touch when you've just paid the bill!

I think its overpriced for what is on offer, having stayed in lots of guesthouses and proper hotels before and received a lot more.

Room Tip: The beds are just not comfortable....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank melrose5Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as we get very few negative comments and cannot understand why you did not mention anything on your departure as your both seem fine when you left the guest house..Nigel & Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived in the rain! Immediately helped with parking and given lots of information re getting into town/sights etc. Very friendly hosts. Very clean and welcoming guest house and room. We had the room at the top! Breakfast was very nice and well presented. Thank you for providing me with soya milk! We enjoyed our stay and are happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi Yvie & Steve,

We are pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Guest House and thank you for the review.

Hope to see you again next time you visit York.

Nigel and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing