We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. and brilliant Hostess not to mention the BIG Breaky.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #47 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. and brilliant Hostess not to mention the BIG Breaky.”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the avondale B & B. in the last 4 years and booked to stay there again this DEC 2009. So i feel better than most to comment on the Avondale. As the sentence starts! Stayed here for the last 4 years . can't find any problems with anything as i wouldn't have gone after the first year if there was. nothing is a problem for carole and her staff. breakfast choice is out of this world. the information they supply for eating out / places to visit is priceless and saves loads of time. just a 10 min walk to the shops in the city centre. can't wait to go back in DEC.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie962016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    54
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
98
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The best guest house we have ever stayed in! The breakfast is out of this world, and you must try the whisky porridge (as we did every day). We arrived early morning, expecting to leave our cases and go out into York, but Carole welcomed us with tea, biscuits, and a chat about York and its attractions, while our room was being prepared. Wendy was also a mine of information over breakfast every day! We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayheaven67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brylee
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I feel compelled to write this review after reading the most derogatory review about the Avondale I have seen.
My daughter and I were staying with Carole (a repeat booking) and were in bed when the downstairs incidident occured. I can confirm all that Carole has stated in her reply.
The rest of the many reviews are taken by and large, absolutely correct. I can`t speak for their individual happenings of course.
Accomodation is brilliant, the food first class and wonderful in its diversity. The way the staff look after their guests is to be commended. What else is there to say?
You can stay with Carole with confidence, you will get a great welcome and will be well looked after. Problems (where they exist) of whatever type will be addressed and remedied if necessary.
Bryan

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huahin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Apart from the cramped "garrett" style bedroom and the inability to open window wider to allow for ventilation as no a/c. The breakfast and friendly, knowledgeable, attentive staff (inclusive of reception/house cleaning) were very good indeed. Lack of PC/internet was a pain and could easily be addressed. Proximity to the sites/sights also an added bonus with some great pub meals within an easy walk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuahinCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

we stayed at the Avondale this weekend after dropping the son off in Harrogate, my family derive from York so a perfect excuse to stay, and am so glad we did. After slight hiccup over gaining entry OUR fault entirely for not reading instructions properly, the guest house is truly gorgeous. Bed is soooooo comfortable
the breakfast was the best I have had in a b and b as you can pre-order it the night before and the it was so well presented I didnt want to eat it far too pretty ;-) but very delicious! yum.
Carole and Wendy perfect hostess's Wendy made us laugh which to me is a huge bonus and Carole could not do enough especially as she was very tired after race day, very impressed and we will difinitly go back soon. Sorry Girls
Elaine and Nigel Panting Newbury Berks

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElaineNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We quite enjoyed our stay at this guest house. It is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The hostess, Carole, justifiably prides herself in special breakfasts and allows guests to order from a menu. I've never seen this in any other British B&B and it's wonderful flexibility. The food is excellent. Carole and staff are very welcoming to families and even have toys and books in the room. She also provided a guidebook in each room with suggestions for local services, from laundrettes to internet cafes, and of course, restaurants. She's open to questions and free with opinions. We loved the location and were able to walk in a few minutes to the city walls. There was even an excellent Indian restaurant nearby. It was a little expensive, but so was everything else in the UK, so we felt it was fair.

Our only complaint was that our room, on the top floor, had an unpleasant odor. My husband smelled it the first night but it was subtle; our second and final night it was unmistakeable, quite malodorous, and was strongest in the bathroom. One habituated to it after a few minutes in the room, but had we been there longer, would have spoken to the hostess and maybe requested a change in rooms.

The hostess strikes me as quite motivated to better her guesthouse and I am confident will address this problem.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank follin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolekaleda, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2009
I am always delighted when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us and taken the time to post a review. I have sent a personal apology to these guests for the odour in the bathroom and would to confirm that we have now addressed the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Avondale. Carole is a truly wonderful host and helped make our stay relaxed and in no doubts that we will return again. The breakfasts were hearty and very filling, with an excellent choice and nothing was too much trouble.
It is a very easy stroll into York from here and Carole is more than willing to share her knowledge of places to visit, to eat or even just a lovely scenic route to walk.
We have had a fantastic weekend and I cannot for the life of me understand the awful comments left by another so called 'guest', they are most unjustified and so very wrong. Do not let the ill feeling they had, put you off going!! Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinniesbetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#60 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#87 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#17 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and friendly Avondale Guest House is perfectly located in a wonderful vibrant area just 5 minutes walk from the river and the ancient city walls. We offer all en suite rooms, a fabulous choice of breakfasts using all local ingredients, try our whisky porridge to start your day! We happily cater to all diets, we love York and will tell you all you need to know about what to see and where to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing