We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #50 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The usual does "what it says on the tin" but what people do not tell you is this B&B is superbly located in a village called "Bishy street" great pubs and shops. Then the better bits, Carole and her able assistants make one feel really at home in great rooms and the breakfasts, well a whole chapter may be devoted to the excellent menu.
The biggest mistake one can make is not trying this establishment, brilliant.
My partner and I would choose Avondale over any hotel in York

Room Tip: Take your pick they are all great
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Avondale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely breakfast with something for everyone, including hard to please children. Rooms clean and attractive. Very friendly and helpful owners. Location great for accommodation just outside the centre. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Avondale in York. We would definitely recommend this B&B. The breakfast has won awards, and we must say it is far one of the best that we have ever had. Location is great, and there are many shops that are only a few minutes walk away from the Avondale, and only a short walk from the heart of York. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. Carole is a great host and extremely knowledgeable on the history of York. Carole was so friendly and welcoming, and the rest of her team were also very friendly. Thank you so much for making our stay a special one. Bless you all. XXX

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the B&B called Heather, room size was just right nice and cosy and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NasD1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the best B&B I've stayed in ever! The room (Daisy - the smallest there) was pretty small but very well organised, cozy and clean, with an immaculate and fully-functional bathroom and lots of storage space. The landlady was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast deserved all it's awards! Avondale was very well situated for getting to York City centre (and the walls), and good value for money.

Room Tip: Daisy is small. The others are pretty big.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieHatter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We should have booked a family room; the bed was spacious but there was no room for suitcases or stuff. Carole is delightfully knowledgeable about York and proud of its attractions. The outside stairs and indoor carpet were both dirty, but the room was quite clean. The sun is overpowering in the breakfast room; we'd suggest an investment in window treatment. The location is excellent for walking into the center of town.

Room Tip: Book a larger room and get to breakfast early enough to get one of the tables not in full sun.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at Avondale a couple of weeks back and I must say I really enjoyed my stay there.

Carole was very friendly and very knowledgeable on historic York. Warm welcome.

She showed me to my room on the top floor. It was nicely decorated with fresh flowers. Excellent and well stocked tea/coffee facilities. Bed was comfortable with ensuite facilities.

Breakfast in the morning was probably one of the best I have had. Choice of various type of breakfast (english, continental, fish, mediterranean, american) was exceptional!!! ...and whiskey porridge was to die for...I love porridge, but this one was soooooooooo good!!! The Ladies serving breakfast were very friendly. Carole was very accommodating by serving it slightly earlier as I had an early bus to catch for a day trip.

Location was great! 5 minutes walk from the city centre and the walls; the Minster; Clifford's Tower; the York Museums, 10 minutes walk to the shambles. Avondale is well located in a street with lots of shops around and a variety of restaurant, fish and chips, Sainsbury's round the corner is very convenient.

To sum up, excellent selections for breakfast, a well-appointed room, fantastic host. Would have no hesitation in returning to the Avondale Guest House and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in York.

Merci Carole!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li0z0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Carol and her staff were very friendly. B&B a short walk along the wall into the town centre. We had the 2 rooms at the top of the house; a double and a family triple. The family room was a huge room with a view of the minster.
All in all a great stay, lovely breakfasts (carol was very accommodating with picky kids!!), very useful information about the city as we arrived and made to feel very welcome and at home. Thank you carol

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#60 of 194 in York
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#59 of 194 in York
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#18 of 194 in York
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $112 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and friendly Avondale Guest House is perfectly located in a wonderful vibrant area just 5 minutes walk from the river and the ancient city walls. We offer all en suite rooms, a fabulous choice of breakfasts using all local ingredients, try our whisky porridge to start your day! We happily cater to all diets, we love York and will tell you all you need to know about what to see and where to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing