We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #46 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Second time here and I love it. Carole and Wendy cannot do enough for you. It's like a home away from home. I was even stupid enough to lock myself out late at night and had to wake Carole up and it was not a problem at all.

The breakfast is great. The location is good too. It's not perfectly central but the centre of town is a 5 minute walk away and there are 2 superb pubs along the way.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    54
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
96
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I've stayed at this guesthouse a few times now and once again had a really comfortable stay. Carole is a warm, welcoming hostess. The house is lovely and the breakfast menu is really good. I would highly recommend the Avondale to anyone planning a visit to York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmw2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in November during the St Nicholas Fayre. There is parking available nearby on a side street which is handy. The guest house itself is lovely and clean. Bedroom was lovely and cosy with a really comfortable bed. We were made to feel very welcome by Carole and her team. The breakfasts were delicious and set us up nicely for the 10 minute stroll into the centre. We hope to stay again soon and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hospitality was good,breakfast recommend ,in a fair location,the only thing that marred this weekend was a week later I got a fine from a hidden camera ,I apparently went and drove down
A bus lane with no road markings,it has since been on the northeast news saying that York council are rakeing the money in,around 500 drivers a day,,,,,needless to say york council I will take my money else were in future,,,,so be aware when driving through york lend le bridge or you also will have to fork £60 out your pocket,,,,bye bye york

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thanks to Carole and team to looking after us once again and we can't wait to return next year... The breakfasts were amazing as always and Carole just makes you feel so welcome, you feel more like you're at home than staying at a guest house.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Author007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. Our rooms were very comfortable, and cosy. Breakfast was excellent. Very friendly staff. Carol was very helpful with details of York, and the binder in our room was very informative. Thank you Carol you are a very good hostess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really enjoy Carole's hospitality - friendly and helpful. I hadn't been to York in many years and she helped remind me and inform me of all the great spots to see and what to do. There is a very helpful binder of information compiled on York in your room, I referred to it a lot for the few days I was there.
I walked everywhere. It's a 20 to 30 minute walk to the centre of York. Very easy to get there, Carole gave me two helpful maps.
The b&b is immaculate, my room was wonderful. I had the Violet room on the top floor. Double bed, en-suite, goodie tray with tea & coffee, digital alarm clock, nice flat screen tv. I was very happy here.
The Violet room in the back is very quiet, and I'd certainly request it for next time. Well, it was quiet until the neighbours with screaming children arrived. This is a house and there is no soundproofing of course. Nothing you can do, you're pretty much at the mercy of the consideration of others in a b&b. It's family friendly, that's great but bring your earplugs. I am glad I left the next day as the screaming and carrying on went on and on. It was like I was in their room.
I slept like a log for the first two nights as it's quiet but the third night was a wreck... but that's how it goes sometimes! So if there's no screaming kids, you're in for a treat.

Breakfast was great. I haven't eaten so much in ages! There is a great selection of breakfast types, English, Veggie, Mediterranean, Continental - a lovely choice, it's terrific. I must say, the fresh coffee was amazing too.
I highly recommend this lovely establishment! Carole absolutely is dedicated to your happiness during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#57 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#88 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#17 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and friendly Avondale Guest House is perfectly located in a wonderful vibrant area just 5 minutes walk from the river and the ancient city walls. We offer all en suite rooms, a fabulous choice of breakfasts using all local ingredients, try our whisky porridge to start your day! We happily cater to all diets, we love York and will tell you all you need to know about what to see and where to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing