We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #48 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“really nice place”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

never write reviews but thought i would make an exception.

After trolling tripadvisor for one of the cheaper places to stay in York i found this place as it had some really good reviews and only a few poor ones so i was a little skeptical, but when when my fiancé and i arrived we were pleasantly surprised.

The owner Carole was really nice and helpful and the woman who served us breakfast was friendly too.

The breakfast was really nice, the room was nice and clean and had all the nice bits like coffee and different teas ect, the only downside was the shower room was a little small but hey its a guest house not a hotel as some people on here seem to forget!!

really cant fault anything with this place and would defiantly go back.

ps don't listen to the haters on here they like going to places and complaining about things, either that or this place has really changed in the last couple of years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    54
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
98
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a guest house so expect a guest house. But a v good one especially for the price. Small attic room now has perfectly good sized shower/toilet room, although don't take much luggage if you stay in it. I loved it. Squeeky floors but that's what you want? Very good breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had 3 days here, celebrating our wedding aniversary. We could not have chosen better. My daughter had rung beforehand and organised with Carole to buy champagne and flowers. Not only did Carole do this for us, but she thought to send a photo to our daughter. Lovely room, the best breakfast I remember having at a B and B, with an enormous choice. Freshly cut fruit, yoghurt and croissants suited me perfectly while my husband had piping hot English breakfast, all served with friendliness and care. There was a relaxing feel about the place and Carole and the ladies that helped at breakfast could not have been nicer.
York is a great city to visit and Avondale is just a short stroll to the city walls. There is much to see and Carole provided books which we were free to borrow and maps to help us explore on foot.
We chose the twin room at the top of the house. The sun came through in the morning and we could see the Minster from the window. The room was warm and toiletries provided were just the sort one might be pleased to use. Towels dried easily and the shower was easy to use and hot. The room was a good size, with an easy chair in it and we would choose this room again. Avondale Guest House in York is excellent in every way.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front as the sun comes through in the morning. Traffic noise did not. Our ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Exactly what you want form a B+B, warm, clean and excellent breakfasts and rooms. The hostess was excellent and really friendly so we will deinitely return. It's a short walk to the centre ao all and all perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royston_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My 17 year old son stayed here the night before a university open day. Carole could not have been kinder and more helpful, sorting out buses etc. He also had a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay if we go back to the university.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsinpassmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming. It has an excellent location being only about 8 mins from Clifford's Tower. And we had a huge and tasty breakfast which set us up for the morning. I would definitely recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great find for a few days getaway, within walking distance of the city. Home from home with friendly service, fresh flowers, warm well decorated rooms where you instantly relax.
Six breakfast menu choice was novel and well executed. Would we stay again. We would and recommend to friends and family too. Thanks Carol.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#59 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#86 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and friendly Avondale Guest House is perfectly located in a wonderful vibrant area just 5 minutes walk from the river and the ancient city walls. We offer all en suite rooms, a fabulous choice of breakfasts using all local ingredients, try our whisky porridge to start your day! We happily cater to all diets, we love York and will tell you all you need to know about what to see and where to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing