We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing coffee”
Review of Spring Espresso

Spring Espresso
Ranked #16 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are a primarily a coffee shop using Square Mile coffee. We do home made cakes and wonderful sandwiches
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spring has the best coffee, home-made sandwiches and cakes ever and add to this the very friendly staff and great decor you'll want to keep going back for more and more - which we did!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    136
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food drink and staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Called in expecting great things after reading reviews and we weren't disappointed. This place is fantastic, very friendly staff, great atmosphere and outstanding food. Mocha and latte to drink, both superb-worthy award winners!
Delicious sandwiches and fantastic cakes. Will be back for more, deservedly rated as a great place to eat drink and socialise. Yorkshire connections with reclaimed wood for furnishings set this place apart from others, keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We always make a point of visiting Spring when we goto York. Steve really knows his coffee & Tracey the same with her cakes. Everything is expertly crafted. You really do just need to visit these guys, drop the chains, independent is better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank americanv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar and Clevaland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes and amazing coffee!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The reviewer below who describes the cakes as "ok" really doesn't know what they're talking about! The cakes are amazing! We had the chocolate bunt and the apple, pecan and bourbon cake and can honestly say that they are some of the nicest cakes we have ever had. Yes the place is small but this is to be expected in a quaint city like York. Another nice touch was complimentary water on each table. Excellent cafe which well deserves its number 1 spot on here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinneyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worlds best coffee :-)”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited here this morning with my daughter and husband, it took some finding but it's just near Mumbai Lounge. The atmosphere was extremely friendly and really relaxed. The coffee is the best I've ever tasted, so smooth and creamy- delicious! The paninis are also a must try, great value for money! The decor of the place is very modern but could be more seating as it seemed to get busy! If you're visiting York, don't miss out on this little gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Espresso also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Spring Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing