We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

York's Chocolate Story
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
York's Chocolate Story Guided Tour
Ranked #18 of 167 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York's Chocolate Story is an entertaining and informative guided tour through the history of York's most famous chocolate-making families and their finest creations. You'll discover chocolate's origins, how to make it, how to taste it like an expert and even the sustainable future of chocolate. You'll also uncover a host of surprising secrets and fascinating facts behind York's greatest chocolate products, from the Chocolate Orange to the globally famous KitKat. Once you've explored chocolate making and its history, you can even shop for and indulge in chocolate to your heart's content. There's so much for you to enjoy and discover!
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The tour itself was OK (but not great), it told the local story of chocolate manufacturing and the tour guide was pleasant. However, as others have noted it did feel a bit as if I was on a school trip. The entrance fee is overpriced and again as others have noted the amount of chocolate samples given is poor given what you pay. Once you arrive back in the shop there are various forms of chocolate items to buy but these are expensive and the item we brought did not taste any different to most other chocolate. Within the shop there is a café which sells lots of different chocolate cakes, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The cakes were gorgeous but again you pay highly for them.

4  Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments - it’s only with honest feedback that we can make valid improvements to the experience. Our pricing is very similar to other attractions within York and we’d just like to assure you that our prices reflect the quality of the chocolate we use on our tours, sell in our shop and the quality of the food in our cafe. Thanks again for getting in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"make your own"
in 522 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 470 reviews
"cadbury world"
in 154 reviews
"free samples"
in 196 reviews
"chocolate samples"
in 100 reviews
"lollipops"
in 189 reviews
"cocoa beans"
in 49 reviews
"great tour"
in 142 reviews
"all ages"
in 224 reviews
"children and adults"
in 49 reviews
"york pass"
in 87 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 189 reviews
"value for money"
in 127 reviews
"great attraction"
in 51 reviews
"interesting history"
in 45 reviews
"rainy day"
in 54 reviews
"visiting york"
in 52 reviews
Filter

4,288 - 4,292 of 4,733 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would recommend this highly, very informative talk on the origins of chocolate and you get to take a sample to taste. You are taken around and make virtual chocolate and you are involved all the time. At the end you make your own chocolate lolly, a must for all ages!

Thank Wend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for leaving such a glowing review! It’s great to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again when you’re in York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

... after this visit I could. I appreciate that they have succeed to make a wonderful, funny and informative story about something I am not interested in. I know that most people think differently about chocolate, and this place have been made especially for those chocolate lovers who would be in heaven.
What made my visit perfect - in addition to the display of videos and other material - was a guide named Alan. Perfect show! I do not know if he wanted to impress especially children but he managed to entertain also me, a fifty-year-old professor.

Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

I’m delighted that we’ve converted you to loving chocolate! Thanks for leaving such a great review and Alan will be thrilled that you enjoyed his tour so much. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We wondered if this would be worth the £28 admission fee (for family of 4) but were really glad we went. It's a guided tour through the history of chocolate with particular reference to the local brands. There are several different areas with different things to taste at each point. The guides were brilliant. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The story was brought to life cleverly using a mix of visual aids and tactile displays. We got to make chocolate lollypops to take away too. Our children (aged 8 and 10) loved it-especially the testing- but I think they learned plenty too! Highly recommend this as a way to spend a couple of hours- the cafe looks lovely too but we had eaten enough chocolate by the end of the tour! We did buy a few things at the shop for later.

Thank winter-wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks so much for leaving us such lovely comments and I’m pleased to hear you felt you got value for money from the experience. It’s great that you enjoyed the story and our guides as well as getting hands-on making your own chocolate too! We look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re in York for a chocolate treat in our cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I went today, and found it great value for money. There was a guided tour which had fun for the children as well as information and nostalgia for the adults.

Thank mummabrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience and we’re delighted you felt it was value for money and that you enjoyed discovering the part York played in how we enjoy chocolate today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York's Chocolate Story also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York's Chocolate Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing