We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top curry house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Spice

Village Spice
Ranked #246 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Top curry house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Village spice has definitely satisfied us, a byo drinks classy restaurant with delicious food and gets better each time we visit there! 5*

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    35
    13
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ticks all the right boxes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Only been York resident last 2 years - checking out lots of coffee houses / restaurants, and Village Spice ticks all the right boxes: friendly; delicious food; value for money; good ambience. We'll certainly be back again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R1VE_SUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"We'll be recommending this restaurant to all our friends!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Even though they really didn't have room (Valentine's Day, & we hadn't booked!) with a smiley 'not a problem' they made a little corner for us: full marks for effort. Then the meal itself - really fresh and tasty: full marks for cuisine. The bill was very reasonable: full marks for value. A pleasant little chat over how we'd found things: full marks for service. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyd1a485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic birthday meal to remember!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A big group of us went for my birthday and we had a mixed menu of all kinds of delicious dishes. Its a lovely environment in the restaurant and the staff are funny and friendly which added a great deal to making my day even more special than it already was. Plus I got the obligatory sparkler in the ice cream for pudding which was a lovely touch, thank you guys!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our local indian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Delighted to have a little cosy indian just minutes away from us, village spice has never let us down with delicious food aswell as its fantastic service! 5*

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richardhill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Spice also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Village Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing