We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #75 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bankfield B+B recently. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from Veronica into her beautiful, clean and comfortable home. We stayed in the family suite and found the room, beds and en-suite bathroom immaculately presented. The kids loved her homemade flapjacks and jam. My son thought her breakfasts were scrumptious and we couldn't agree more. Thank you Veronica for making us feel so comfortable and at home. I was sad to have to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

visiting family in York recently we needed a hotel for a night.Based on our postcode search we found the Bankfield and I am so glad we did.
The Bankfield was better than a hotel,beautiful,comforatable room and a great breakfast,terrific value for money and a wonderful host.
I will certainly stay here again and happily recommend it to anyone visiting York.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVENHARV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a lovely weekend at this excellent B & B. Well located away from the hustle of York but still within easy commuting distance of the city. Veronica made us feel like we were old friends with her welcome. Breakfast was perfect with good home cooking and room was very clean and comfortable. Would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to visit the fine city of York.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

For three more or less grey and rainy days we stayed in Haxby, but in Bankfield B&B it was absolutely sunny! English breakfast at its very best, prepared by Veronica who loves to make you feel very welcome and has interesting stories. Taste the great home-made jams, enjoy the excellent beds in a lovely room and feel sorry when you have to travel on. When there in June, burry your nose in the roses at the entrance for an old-fashioned, almost forgotten smell.
Thank you Veronica, we loved it! (and thank you for the book I could keep to finish it later, how kind ...)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for four nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. Veronica is a lovely warm hostess and the whole place is beautifully kept, with immaculate, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and up-market bathroom. Good gluten-free bread on offer, homemade jams and flapjacks. We couldn't have asked for more and have no complaints whatsoever. Would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonquilTenterden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My sister, nieces, and I recently spent 4 nights at Bankfield B & B....what a lovely place. The rooms were emaculate and very comfortable. There are so many homemade touches..we felt like we were in our own home. We enjoyed everything about our stay including the chance to visit with the host. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKBoston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankfield186346, Owner at Bankfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. We are pleased that you felt relaxed, and hope to see you again.
p.s. sorry about the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant sized room with a fabulous comfy bed - and plenty of hanging space. Ensuite was immaculate with a shower that I could have stood under all day! The room had the usual tea and coffee facilities but massively improved by the homemade flapjacks that were just delicious. Breakfast was served in an airy room with a choice of cooked items that you chose the previous night - black pudding was superb and my poached egg was done to perfection. Veronica even did a bacon and sausage sandwich wrapped in foil for my boyfriend who was a little too delicate to face breakfast! The location was great for us as the wedding we were attending was in haxby but york is only 4 miles away so that shouldn't put anyone off. Lovely place that I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankfield186346, Owner at Bankfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope the sandwich did the trick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
10.9 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Towthorpe Road, York YO32 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality accommodation near York, away from the hustle and bustle. Haxby is just 3 miles from York and offers excellent local amenities: Pubs and Restaurants. Less than 10 minutes to York’s excellent Park & Ride service. 2 miles from the A64 leading you to our Fabulous Coast, Castle Howard, Flamingo Land, The North Yorkshire Moors and many more. 5 minutes from two large shopping centres, Monks Cross & Clifton Moor. Free Parking is available to all guests staying at Bankfield ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing