We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #82 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night having been attending a wedding close by.

What a delightful stay!

The house is beautiful and to a very high standard (meaning all the areas that we used, entrance hall/stairs/upstairs hall/breakfast room/our room etc).

Our room was fantastic and immaculate. Would have brought the bed home it was that comfy!

Veronica is the perfect hostess and a delight to talk too.

If we stay in York again we won't find a better place to stay...

So.............if your reading this then go and stay and then after you get back review on here because there is no way Bankfield should not be No1 - and I'm not being paid!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kez375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Bankfield for 3 nights recently and it was the best B & B we stayed in throughout our 4 weeks of travelling in the UK and Ireland.
Veronica is a wonderful hostess and does a great breakfast.
It is well located, just outside York city and just a very short walk into Haxby village for the bus into York.
We stayed in the master bedroom and it was spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.
If we ever find ourselves in York again, we would certainly stay at Bankfield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed for 3 nights in this fantastic B & B. Everything is perfect here. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation and service is faultless. The whole house is gorgeous and immaculate, you wont be able to find anything wrong in the rooms...just perfect.
Everything you would expect from a B & B and more.

The breakfast is really good too, with really nice homemade jams. We also had homemade flapjacks in our room which was a nice touch.

I know I mentioned before that the service is faultless, but it really is brilliant, the best we've received from any other B & B or Hotel. Veronica always has time for a chat and helping with any questions you have about the area or checking if you need anything else for your room, she also has a great sense of humor so there are plenty of giggles to be had.

We have had such a lovely stay we will be sad to leave and will most certainly be planning another trip to York and staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite which had an En-Suite. The room was perfect, but whichever room you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed here twice, firstly for a weekend in early July and more recently for 5 nights with the kids.
We visited various places including York. For the two of us we used the park and ride which finishes at 8pm. As a family we drove into York and paid £11 for an all day car park ticket ( valid until 6am.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms are well turned out and clean. Breakfast is excellent, the cooked one consisting of locally sourced sausages and bacon. Jams are homemade.
The owners are friendly and welcoming.
My wife is hoping to plan a trip with our Mums.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Callum Miller

Was struggling to find a place in or near York for a night to see friends for a wedding and stumbled across Bankfield by accident, and a stroke of luck really.
We have stayed in and around York quite a few times over the years and there are reasons we have not gone back to the places we have stayed.

The pictures on the web site are what you get, lovely clean and well presented B&B, not like some pictures that were taken years ago. Situated in Haxby on a very quiet road.
On arrival, was met on first name terms by our host, very friendly and more than happy to welcome us in, the entrance, hallways and room were spotless, and I mean spotless, you know when you want to find an issue but cannot, then this is that type of place.

The homemade cookies in the room were delicious, with all the normal things you would expect from a B&B. We were even offered a lift in the morning to collect our car if we'd had too much to drink, you don't get this service anywhere! Breakfast was a full English with the best homemade marmalade I think I've tasted, and again, faultless.

We have already told a few people about this place and will be back there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have recently spent 1 night in this fantastic bed and breakfast. The accommodation and service were impeccable, no fault could be found. I will certainly return and I have already reccommended the Bankfield to others and will continue to do so. A must is the home made cookies and jams.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
4.7 mi away
Thompsons Arms B&B
Thompsons Arms B&B
#2 of 2 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
3.5 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#59 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: 33 Towthorpe Road, York YO32 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality accommodation near York, away from the hustle and bustle. Haxby is just 3 miles from York and offers excellent local amenities: Pubs and Restaurants. Less than 10 minutes to York’s excellent Park & Ride service. 2 miles from the A64 leading you to our Fabulous Coast, Castle Howard, Flamingo Land, The North Yorkshire Moors and many more. 5 minutes from two large shopping centres, Monks Cross & Clifton Moor. Free Parking is available to all guests staying at Bankfield ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing