We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanage Edge Rock Climbing Experience”

Lost Earth Adventures
Ranked #8 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lost Earth Adventures provides exhilarating outdoor activities for people of all ages and abilities throughout the countryside, mountains, lakes and rivers. Come and have some fun and fresh air with us on a good hike or test your nerves on an exciting day of gorge walking, mountain biking, kayaking, rock climbing, scrambling or abseiling.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stanage Edge Rock Climbing Experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The kids had been interested in rock climbing since going to PGL a while back. I was not so sure as I'm not too good with heights...

We met with Richard nice and early and after familiarising ourselves with our equipment we headed on up to the rocks at Stanage. Richard explained everything very well and put me totally at ease with the whole thing. He went up and secured then necessary equipment ready for the climbing to begin.

There were two groups of us. We know each other and booked together. Ages ranged from 8 years to, oh, something over 40. We all made three ascents of the rock face, at three different locations-each more challenging than the last. We all thouroughly enjoyed the climbing, despite the midges trying their best to eat us alive (according to both Richard and the other climbers using Stanage that day, the midges were a very rare occurence).

All in all a very enjoyable experience. Richard is a thouroughly nice chap. The whole experience was very well organised and conducted by him, and despite my initial concerns about being in a situation that I wasn't too comfortable with his cool, confident attitude helped me get over this. I would definitely book again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EAST YORKS
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rock Climbing at Brimham Rocks”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Had a brilliant day rock climbing with Richard at Brimham Rocks - what a lovely guy - can't imagine their would be anyone he wouldn't get along with. We organised a trip with friends and family for a birthday surprise our group ranged from 8 to well not quite 80 but cracking on for rock climbing. Most of us had never climbed before and Richard kept us as safe as houses. If you've never been and are thinking of wether to give it a try we really couldn't recommend him highly enough - go for it. Thanks again for a day we will never forget.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ROT1EastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic climbing !”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A few friends and I went climbing with Lost Earth Adventures and absolutely loved it ! None of us had climbed outdoors so didn't really know what to expect but Richard was very knowledgable and challenged us on various climbs !

I would definately recommend doing the climbing, it's really enjoyable and it's done on a personal level and you are pressurised into doing anything but is also very encouraging. I am definately going to book again :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Prawn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Climbing at stanedge”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked a climbing lesson for our son via groupon. Richard is friendly and knowledgeable. He made sure everyone had A challenge. Gave a good impression of a small friendly expert company. Looking forward to trying some of their other adventures.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marshyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out with Lost Earth Adventures at Brimham Rocks”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my wife spent a beautiful sunny day at Brimham Rocks with our guide richard. Everything was done on a personal level and we never felt preasured into doing anything we didn't want to climb. This was great as i am affraid of heights! but by the end of the day i was loving it. We will be booking again, thanks Lost Earth Adventures!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WIlliam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Earth Adventures also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lost Earth Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing