We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place for a quick meal”
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #187 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for a quick meal”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had dinner in this pleasant and upbeat Japanese restaurant. One can tell from the menu that the food is not truly Japanese, but the real dishes didn't taste bad. I had miso soup and teriyaki chicken rice with kimchi. It's not the best cooked Japanese-style food but quite tasty anyway. The service was efficient and pleasant. The environment in the restaurant is not the usual romantic kind of dining place. It's more like upbeat, urban, mid-range quick dining place. I would visit this restaurant or its other branches again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MavisMansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    143
    64
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Usual high standard of food”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Called in on a busy Sat tea time and had to wait 10 mins, but the food came quickly and the service was efficient and friendly. New pulled pork gyozos were yum, as was the pad thai. Free wifi which allowed us to watch the Ffrance v Ireland game on the iPhone. Staff were happy to let occupy the table for a while after we had eaten until the game finished.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capbrown2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I don't think Wagamama is really angled towards anyone who has experienced true Asian cuisine. I imagine it will appeal to 'fast-food' diners visiting the shopping center, however the quality is poor and the flavours are not representative of the Japanese heritage it aspires to. If it were cheaply priced my view might be very slightly different but with charging more than an authentic restaurant it's daylight robbery!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, however a little pricy.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited here yesterday for lunch whilst shopping in York. My first time at Wagamama and I'd heard loads of good things. People weren't wrong!

Pros:
- Excellent food
- Massive choice of food
- All extremely fresh
- Quick service
- Very friendly, helpful and informative staff
- FREE green tea (its my fav!)

Cons:
- quite expensive
- no good what so ever for picky eaters. (I'm not, but I know friends who'd absolutely hate it here).

Overall, I really enjoyed it and would definitely go back. Only reasons I've not given 5/5 is because 1) it's a little on the pricy side (however the portions you get are great and it is absolutely beautiful food) and 2) when the waitress came to clear our plates away she absolutely stunk of smoke (and she hadn't earlier) so she'd clearly just been on a fag break. Just wasn't a very pleasant smell right after we'd finished eating.

If you love Asian food, I'd really recommend Wagamama.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beffsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Nice as Ever! ”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Wagamama is a chain restaurant so as expected delivered a reputable high standard. Very friendly staff welcomed my first time visiting family, explaining the building layout and menu concisely, which definitely helped everyone choose their dish quickly.

The child's dish came out very fast, and was a little small.. But then again the chap eating it was a bit old for child's menu. The adult dishes came soon after, all of which were great quality - freshly made. One dish did come out a bit slow, but the standard of the meal happily made up for this. Fresh juices were also a hit with out family. Deserts were delicious, served quickly, but a little small.

Very nice meal out, a great introduction for our family to slightly different cuisine!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing