We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wagamama, York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #197 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wagamama, York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant meal here after a matinee at the York Opera House. We had a reservation, but we didn't need one at 5.00pm. The service was prompt and efficient and the food was very good, interesting choices and nicely presented. We have recommended the restaurant to our friends and we intend to go back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNicks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    123
    53
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great chain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been to a few wagamamas and this one doesn't disappoint! The staff were friendly, the food was great and the atmosphere was noisy but not overpowering at the same time!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_lover5694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great food, great service, lovely atmosphere really worth a visit. The food is fresh and tasty, the service is friendly and very fast, along with a great menu, you shouldn't miss the oppotunity to enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mick_woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great atmosphere with friendly staff! The food is delicious that is reasonably priced, it is clean and spacious inside and very enjoyable to eat at.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flannabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
294 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Decent curry - nothing special, overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I usually avoid chains but happened to visit this new outlet in York with friends who were keen to try it. It covers all the bases perfectly adequately and is a magnet for people (and groups) who want decent ambience, decent food and no surprises. Homogeneity encapsulated perfectly.

The problem with that is that you are never pleasantly surprised with superb food cooked by genuinely talented artisans. And talented is not a tag that could be attached to the cooks in Wagamama. It is join the dots cuisine.

Afternoon service was courteous but thin on the ground (lucky the place was almost empty) although the much vaunted Asahi Lager advertised "on draught" in the menu was not available at all and I suspect by the answer given by our server is never likely to be.

Price was what you would expect in such an establishment - overpriced but not enough so to put people off.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QXZWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing