We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect breakfast wonderful find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Love Cheese

Love Cheese
Ranked #255 of 850 Restaurants in York
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a cheese shop, and we have a cafe directly behind the shop! It leads onto a peaceful back garden, running up to York's city walls.We have a unique menu themed around what we know and love best - Cheese! We serve cheeseboards, mixed deli platters, hot and cold sandwiches and salads. You can also treat yourself to our homemade cakes and cheesecake.Our coffee is based on espresso made with our own blend of coffee beans from York Coffee Emporium. We have a range of lager, cider, ale, wine and spirits to choose from. Or something softer - like sparkling elderflower, lemonade or fruit juice if you prefer.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast wonderful find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place and unexpected find. Wensleydale and fruit cake. I don't normally like wensleydale but I thought if I were to tasty this crumbly/dry cheese and have a happy memory attached I may just well love it forever! We'll let me tell you. The wensleydale cheese the love cheese establishment use is top tier Wensleydale. Never have I tasted such a beautiful wensleydale.both the people serving were really helpful and suggested a few good eats for dinner!

Thank you love cheese. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Only here for a few days, but this place is an instant favorite. Really good sandwiches and coffee here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheese lovers heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled over this deli and cafe and were delighted. The food was lovely, excellent cheeses served at the right temperature with grapes and bread (and a bit of salad). House wine was very good too. Funnily enough they had a bit of a problem finding our bill too, (seems like this is a common problem) however this was easily and quickly sorted.
The range of cheeses is fantastic, including a sweet Norwegian one. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank White-S66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheese, Cheese and more Cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

An amazing selection of cheeses set out in a small shop (3 couples in there and it was full). The cafe has an inside and a pretty little garden overlooked by the city walls. The menus were, obviously, a DIY job on a home computer, A4 folded into 3 and starting to get a bit tatty. A novel way of numbering tables was used. You are given a small plastic farm animal with a number on - we had a black and white cow!

There is a good range of food available from snacks to full meals, all at reasonable prices. I had a mini cheese board and my friend had a scone. The food was very well presented on little slates and tasted very good.

The only problems we had were the over-enthusiastic waitress, who cleared the table before we had actually finished (we actually thought that they were closing - they weren't) and having to queue in the shop, which was full, to pay for our food. The system of taking your farm animal to the shop to pay needs looking at, the lady behind the counter couldn't find our ticket and had to ask us what we had ordered.

Despite the problems I would go again, it was a very pleasant experience and one I recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheese-tastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

An extensive range of delicious cheeses in a really friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The music was nice too, and we really enjoyed the range of cheeses and ciders. The staff were great, and knew their cheeses!
We also had some lovely home-made cake to round off the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachaelBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love Cheese also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Love Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing