We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over, would defiantly stop again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steer Inn
Ranked #188 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stop over, would defiantly stop again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just stopped over at the Steer hotel for one night with my farther and sister after reading earlier reviews I wasn't sure what to expect......let me put your mind at rest, service great friendly staff, food was good, room was good nice and tidy and very clean had a great nights sleep. To find a place with nice staff, restaurant, relaxing bar with tidy/clean rooms at a normal cost you can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    5
    5
    27
See reviews for
19
27
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Recently taken over by a very welcoming family. The food was lovely, interior clean and pleasant, staff friendly and helpfull. We ate from the Steak Menu on a Thursday which was half price dining. - A bonus, however it is to be noted that half price only applies to steak, not to other dishes, starters or puddings. We ordered steak and also seafood, both dishes were really nice, well cooked and well presented. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here about 15 years ago when is was the best
Steak house in Yorkshire . Then !! Just went downhill to
Probably the worst !
New owners took over so thought would give it a try ,
They really tried to make us very welcome, couldn't do enough for us , service excellent 5 star .
Food was excellent albeit the menu was a little limited.
Chef clearly wanted our meal to be prized and did a good job.
Well worth calling , definetly recommend.
So often hotel owners just don't seem to care , maybe it's the recession , but these people are doing there very best 10/10 .

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found The Steer to be clean, friendly and very welcoming. From the minute we walked in, nothing at all was too much trouble during our stay. Each member of staff was pleasant and chatty and the proprietor and his wife and family treated us as one of their own, even sending us home with home baked cake. The chef worked hard and the food was plenty, home cooked and excellent. It was very busy when we stayed in September 2013 but the proprietor went out of his way for everybody and the place had a great atmosphere. The proprietor, his wife and family have worked very hard to bring the place up to scratch since taking over in 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is only suitable for dog-tired businessmen who check in late and leave early. Its such a shame because the proprietor is a really nice guy who goes out of his way to please. The atmosphere is very welcoming, so not Basil Fawlty, but there is something off beat about the whole experience quite unlike any other hotel I have stayed in. The room was not very clean and the shower was terrible - luke warm at best and not much more than a trickle. The tea-making facilities and complimentary soaps etc are there, but very very basic. This is not the place to go for a relaxing break and is very expensive for what it is. Breakfast was poor, so poor we were not tempted to try the steak restaurant. Needs a visit from Alex Pollizi!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

folkestone
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arrived to be met by Sarah[owners daughter] who explained that as they had only been at the hotel for two weeks there may be teething problems an unfounded warning as the new owner[Darren] and his family couldn't have made us more welcome. The room was clean, the shower fine, fresh towels daily, so no problems there. Ate in the restaurant that evening excellent meal and service was good . Certainly had no problem finding the room were those people who wrote the previous review at the same place .Breakfast on both days was good with generous portions. All in all a great weekend and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Having left booking accommodation for our evening late this was the only thing available. The location however was perfect for our requirements.
The inn met expectations: clean, nice staff, but noisy and bright. We had ear plugs and eye masks so slept fine! For £70 I thought it was expensive.

If you require this location it's fine for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.2 mi away
Mohair Farm Bed & Breakfast
Mohair Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Barmby Moor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alder Carr House
Alder Carr House
#1 of 2 in Barmby Moor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.2 mi away
Yorkway Motel
Yorkway Motel
#1 of 2 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#57 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
10.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steer Inn

Property: The Steer Inn
Address: Hull Road | nr Wilberfoss, York YO41 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — The Steer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Steer Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing