We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,372)
Filter reviews
2,372 results
Traveler rating
1,310
569
292
125
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,310
569
292
125
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuck box garden room beautiful hotel train station chapter house elemis toiletries junior suite leisure facilities the main hotel birthday treat public areas car park lounge area no air con steam room lovely touch third floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,372 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked Dinner Bed and Breakfast in September to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary, the weekend started really well as staff had left us a beautiful bouquet and bottle of Prosecco.
The food was a set menu with option to upgrade to a la carte menu which was similar to the basic menu and very disappointing. We spent a long time looking for staff to ask for things. All food is served in a very cold conservatory in the style of canteen food. We had brought our best attire to wear as it was our special anniversary but we had to wear casual the second night as it was so cold and rather impersonal. We really wish we had just gone for B&B and gone into York for dinner. The dining experience does not fit with the hotels style.
In addition we reported that our shower drain was blocked and flooded the floor. reception said they weren't sure if maintenance were available at the weekend. This is preposterous, what if there was a more serious emergency.
I dont want to put other travellers off going, give it a try maybe we were unlucky.
But Management take note.

Room tip: garden view
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngirDesign1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyHarrison1IHG, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AngirDesign1

Thank you for your feedback and review of your stay, and for choosing us for your celebration.

I am sorry that our Refectory dining experience did not meet your expectations in terms of decor and style, and for the maintenance issues you experienced. Please be assured that our maintenance team are on site daily and for emergencies we do have a 24/7 call in place. I apologise that due to inexperience on our Front Desk this was a miscommunication and this could have been rectified for you during your stay, and re-training will be carried out with our Front of House team to avoid future situations.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warmest regards

Tracy Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second time at The Principal and it was even better than the first time. Such a lovely place, both the rooms and the public areas.
And every member of staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.
A big thanks to whoever booked us into a room with a view of the Minster. We didn't arrive until after 9.30pm and to walk into the room to be greeted by that was a real joy.
A mention too of The Chapter House, whose mainly young staff were very friendly and calmly efficient.
We loved every second of our stay and can't wait to go back.
The only slight niggle was the lifts, especially the smaller one of the two which would refuse to budge due to weight controls with more than two adults in it.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveGCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyHarrison1IHG, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DaveGCI

Sounds like you had a wonderful experience with us and were well looked after by our team at the Principal York.

We value your review and that you are returning guests, and will share your comments with our team, and sincerely hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Tracy Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed and felt ripped off. Over priced for small stuffy room with small bed and pretty average breakfast. When we booked we were told of a suite but what we got was not enough room to open our bags at the same time and one chair to share, Room with a view of the garden: not sure how this would have been possible as we over looked a wall. No air con and inadequate fans in a room that even the house maid thought was stuffy. The windows did not open so that wasn’t the reason we were kept awake by Music blasting till early hours.
The staff were amazing and work very hard but they have to as the management are charging a fortune for nothing. Room said there would be luxury dressing gown and slippers: they just need collecting from reception which is a 5 minute walk away-more like 20 minutes. And Breakfast. Pretty sub standard buffet, nothing exciting in it and certainly no eggs, the coffee was dreadful. The British really don’t how to make a decent coffee but this was exceptionally bad. The two most important ingredients in a cappuccino are decent coffee and good quality whole milk, evidently these are are not available to the Brewster in the Principle. The staff are very good and the rooms were clean but the price way off. Next night stayed at another city rail way hotel for a quarter of the price and they were of a higher standard. Would not return or even recommend it to my worst enemy

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyHarrison1IHG, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear WendyB2901

I am saddened to read that we failed to deliver the experience you anticipated, and offer our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused.

Without having further details relating to your booking I am unable to investigate your comments fully and therefore we have messaged you direct on Trip Advisor to request additional information and subsequently provide you with a full response.

On a positive note it is great that our team looked after you during your stay, and we hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Tracy Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a Annex Room for the week/end and after reading some reviews about the size came with low expectation but found nothing wrong with the size and had everything we wanted infact found the Hotel quite generous crisps and kitkats everyday and we had Dinner included We were told we could change menu to £25 credit to the normal menu per person nothing wrong with the set menu .Staff in both Restaurant and Bar gave great service even though the Hotel seemed full,Great vibe in the Bar. .Breakfast was of good quality Bacon,sausages and fresh muffins .2 small groans was poor water pressure in the room and at busy periods during breakfast items often ran out nothing new in the Hotel world well done !!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank longrange69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyHarrison1IHG, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear longrange69

Sounds like you had an enjoyable experience with us at the Principal York.

Thank you for your review and feedback and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Tracy Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous hotel and location, right next to the train station and a quick walk into town. Staff amazing and very impressed with Housekeeping and reception. Stayed in the annexe, rooms were a great size.
Will return.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Natmac200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyHarrison1IHG, General Manager at The Principal York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Natmac200

Thank you for your review, where it is great you enjoyed your stay and our location, and were well looked after throughout your time with us by our team.

It is fantastic you will be returning to stay with us again, where we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards

Tracy Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews