We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hovel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beckett Guest House
Ranked #171 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here on a very busy Christmas weekend as other places were booked up. It was disgusting. The 'family room' was horrible. Shower room wasn't big enough to swing a cat's whisker, had peeling paint and wallpaper, torn lino, nowhere to put towels, a cold shower and extractor fan didn't work. The dingy bedroom had holes in the wall, peeling paint, a tatty threadbare carpet, stained and dirty bedding. Heating was by way of a plug-in heater and wall heater which didn't work. Skylights were so dirty they hardly let in any daylight. Wouldn't wish this hovel on my worst enemy. Can't speak about the other rooms as we didn't see inside them and the dining room, visible from the road, looks nice. One waitress was really lovely and made us very welcome. Other than that, don't do it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

On arrival we where greeted by owner and seemed very friendly but we where not at all happy with the standard of accomodation very dated and threadbare. The rooms needed some money spending on them to be of better quality and after one nights stay we decided to leave and go elsewhere although we had payed for 2 nights so lost our money. In general this place was charging the same rates as other guest houses in the area IE Minister View which is of excellent quality. The dining room you could barly move in and seemed to be a waiting time for tables. We booked a local hotel on the corner and for the same price they very went overboard to give us one of the executive rooms for the same price. This quest house is more suitable for contractors we thought not for if you are used to decent quality accomodation.

Room Tip: Look eleswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

greeted warmly on arrival,owner had to leave to collect children from school,went to our room on the 3rd floor,first reaction was,LEAVE.very grubby all round,towels and sheets were grey,should be white,bed not too bad but soon realised that the base had towels on it to hide the fact it was in tatters,we were there for St Nic weekend,(something we have done several times)so knew that if we left we would have great difficulty finding somewhere else,so stayed,Soon became aware that the heating in the room was not so good but the second night was even worse,in the end my husband went and ask for some other heating or we would be going home,he had to carry a small oil heater up 2 flights of stairs,and was asked to bring it down again at 8am so they could put it in the breakfast room,as this too was very cold,breakfast i have to say was good and staff lovely,we were out all day and when we got back the heater had already been put in our room (7),and it was really warm,but the radiator was cold,the heater was again carried down the stairs for breakfast,very noisy place with a waste pipe from next door running through our room,owner asked for cash,no reciept given,but did give us £12 back for the trouble,so to sum up,parking good,location good,breakfast good staff good,guest house awful,will not be returning,unless some money is spent on the place,and i dont think that will happen anytime soon.

Room Tip: choose another gueast house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked to stay here the night before arriving in York as a late get away for myself and partner. It is a lovelly place to stay, though the bedrooms maybe not to everyones taste we enjoyed it. Melissa (one of the owners) is an exceptional lady who takes great pride in every aspect of the guest house. The breakfasts each day were delicious and we found it hard to tear ourselves away to explore the area and attractions throughout the city.

Melissa has a very extensive knowledge of the local area and is always keen to know customers comments on resaurants, cafes and attractions so that she can pass on current information to other guests.

From the start, the guest house is immaculately clean fromthe porch, the hallway and stairs, bedrooms and breakfast area. There is a delightful little dog which lives with them but she causes no disturbance and without the owner telling us abaout her we wouldnt have known there was a dog there. That was until my partner coaxed her out into the hallway so he could fuss over her :)

The Main city cecnter is a short 5 minute walk away and attractions easily found with a map (if you dont know the area, a map / booklet is a must, plus you get some great discounts for restaurants and shops in the booklet aswell). The guest house is roughly 5 mins from the stations without traffic and costs around £5 - £8 depending on which route is taken. The main route usually costs about £5.50 but if travelling in rush hour traffic, the longer distance route is much advised costing around £7.50.

We can praise this place and the owners enough. A true delight, will not hesitate to recommend staying here again and again

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size, if you want a larger room you may be as well to enquire before or during boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was a little concerned after reading reviews as there seems to be a 50 /50 split on this hotel.But did not need to be, on arrival met the landlady who was very helpful and sorted out our car parking permit straight away .was then shown to our room which was a twin bed room. which was fine not very big but more than adequate. the bathroom was up a short flight of steps and was very large.It does need some money spending on it and yes carpets were a little threadbare on the stairs ((not something that would bother me to be honest ) But the landlady was nice and the staff at breakfast were brilliant as was the all important food. there was a large choice and nothing was too much trouble.the location was perfect a short stroll from the center and well away from the noise at night. Overall if you want 3* and up it will not be for you. for the price it was a good value enjoyable break

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peteyBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have spent a lovely time in this guest house when i visited there to watch a soccer match. The soccer field is just 1minute walk from the guest house, that was great! Melissa, the owner is so friendly, welcoming. Breakfast was great, room was clean and comfortable bed. I am sure i will go back there!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia_Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

spent 2 nights at the beckett even though it had bad reviews.glad i didnt pay any attention to them.place could do with a bit of work however was lovely and clean mellissa and paul were warm and welcoming and the girls who work for them were lovely.would definately go back.maybe other customers should stop watching four in a bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Hare and Hounds
#164 of 194 in York
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#78 of 194 in York
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckett Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckett Guest House

Address: 58 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beckett Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beckett Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckett City Center Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing