We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scones in town!”

Little Shambles Tea Room
Ranked #13 of 46 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best scones in town!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is a tiny little tea room. A little cramped by I liked it...it added to the quirkiness. The shambles properties are tinyiside so they have done well with the space.

The girls work incredibly hard. The local girls are the best and make it a proper York experience. The german lady worked hard but her bedside manner left a lot to be desired.

Anyway... I wanted to review this place because as a bit of a cake expert this place was AMAZING. The afternoon tea waa to die for. The home made scones were the best I have ever eaten...and I have eaten a lot in my time!!! Please please please go here just to have these amazing scones with oodles of cream and jam. These make this tea room more than worth it. I desperately want the recipe!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jellydog
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for a cheap quick lovely breakfast”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Popped in to the tea room as we had not found anywhere else we fancied for breakfast,
Tiny little tea room with extra seating upstairs.
Good menu choices, full breakfast, eggs on toast, rounds of toast, bacon sarnies etc.
Good selection of drinks.
Good menu choice for lunches & afternoon teas too, I was tempted by scone & jam for breakfast.

I opted for a pot of Earl grey, & two poached eggs with mushrooms on wholemeal toast, it was one of the best meals I've had for a while all for the princely sum of £7.50. Bargain, everyone else enjoyed theirs too.

Waiting staff were lovely too. A tiny tea-room gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Resbite”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

York is a wonderful city, but one that's best enjoyed in good weather. When we visited recently it was pouring down with rain, and discouraged at the lack of Christmas presents and wetness of our feet, we took refuge in the first tea rooms we saw. Such a wonderful coincidence it was this one! Warm and cosy we took the prime table in front of the fire upstairs. Lovely coffee and wonderful teacakes. The waitress was genuine and friendly and the atmosphere was very homey. Reasonably priced, coffee and a teacake for £4. We will definitely be visiting again the next time we're in York!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FruitofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Forget Costa go to The Little Shambles Tea Room”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've just returned from the beautiful city of York. We go every year at this time for Christmas shopping and to re-visit some of our favourite 'touristy' sights. We usually manage to find something/somewhere that we've missed on previous visits.
This year we found this lovely tea room. Friendly and welcoming staff. Thursday was quiet when we popped in for coffee. The rest of the weekend it was busy but still the staff gave us a warm welcome.
Forget Costa and Starbucks and go here for good coffee, cakes etc and friendly helpful staff.
We'll be back next year :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mollysuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stopped by the tea room for a short rest and a bite to eat. The toasted sandwiches were lovely and a pot of tea was plenty to share between two people. We were served by a cheerful waitress who was working as quickly as she can to take orders, clean up and serve the food in a tiny two storey place. Tasty food at reasonable prices with a good view of Ramsgate market (if you're upstairs by the window) - a good place to stop for a bite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Shambles Tea Room also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Shambles Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing