We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise on my doorstep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quaker Wood Pub and Restaurant

Quaker Wood Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #286 of 850 Restaurants in York
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice surprise on my doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Just moved into a house around the corner from this pub/restaurant. We took a couple of days to get a new cooker delivered and wired in so had meals from various takeaways and restaurants in York. Then we tried the Quaker Wood. It was early evening and several tables were occupied and more had reserved signs on them, a good sign we thought. The kitchen had been modernised the day before so we had not been able to eat here until now. The waiter was brilliant with the kids and made sure they had colouring sheets and pencils. He pointed out the specials for the day and told us where to order.
We ordered and the food arrived quickly. It was tasty and well cooked with more sauces freely available if requested. The offer that evening was a free drink with a main course, the available drinks were a little limited but adequate. We all enjoyed the meal and plan to return next Friday with the children's grandmother. Don't forget to pick up a loyalty card too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokian_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    20
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went with the children on a quite lunch time. The food was great value and all tasted good and cooked fab. The service was very friendly and attentive. The only slight down point was the outside area needs some tlc and maybe a few plants/flowers. We will return again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good value for money,wide range of menu.spicy wings are really nice,personally not keen on the hot skillets as your meat carries on cooking at the table and I like my steak rare,but that's personal choice.kids eat for a pound with a paying adult meal and the puddings are good too.Not happy about running out of beer behind the bar at the time as I think that should never happen in a pub.Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leeb568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

A very nice pub grub restaurant with excellent value deals on everyday of the week. A great free pub quiz Monday nights and a very friendly atmosphere with pleasant staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Far better when not so busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on the value for money from our last visit, we visited again to take advantage of a 20% discount from the mailing list but we went at lunchtime on this occasion. It was far quieter with plenty of space and the service was much better with a timely satisfaction check. We both had ribeye steak and it was well cooked though it lacked any garnish or vegetables. It had an extremely good BBQ sauce on the side. A coffee we ordered was unfortunately forgotten but arrived with adequate apologies when we complained. We had a portion of onion rings and a portion of cajun onion rings and both were good quality and tasted good. A couple of pints of Timothy Taylor's Landlord bitter went down well, too. When the Quakerwood is not too busy it really is quite good

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LamplighterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaker Wood Pub and Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Quaker Wood Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing