We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #67 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

the bay horse just by the river , not that far from the centre but still in a quiet area.if you are thinking there might be noise from the pub if you stay in the rooms do not worry as they are at the back and very quiet with that and the combination of the management (Paul and Shel) , staff, lovely room, good food and drink made an excellent two night stay for us. we would just like to say thanks to all at the bay horse.

alan and tracy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We are glad that you found our quiet yet central position on the river pleasing as we are in a quiet backwater position but as you found very accessible for all the attractions of York.

Thank you also for your kind comments on the excellent service of our staff and managers and that you enjoyed your stay in a lovely room with good food and drink.

We look forward to welcoming you again here at The Bay Horse, Marygate, york
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
92
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can recommend the Bay Horse Inn, Marygate in York for that weekend break. Rooms are clean and well appointed, the most comfortable bed we have every slept in, tea making facilities even included decaf tea! . Good breakfast , served hot and parking just around the corner. A short walk to the centre of the city and right on the river front. A nice quiet spot in what can be a very noisy city which seems to be the new capital of hen and stag nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We appreciate you recommending us as an ideal place to stay for weekend break in York as we are in a good, quiet position on the Marygate Landing on the river.

Your appreciation of our clean, well-appointed room,comfy bed, decaff tea and enjoyable breakfast made us all here at The Bay Horse very happy as we try hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Bay Horse, Marygate, York on your next City Break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

There's a selection of cask ales. It's quiet and the surroundings are nice.
I had food once, but didn't enjoy it and we weren't asked if we enjoyed it.
Would go again but only for drinks.
The pub is in a nice position near the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

Your enjoyment of our cask ale selection was much appreciated and we are glad that you liked the nice, quiet surroundings of the Bay Horse and the fact that we are in a nice position on the river.

We are sorry that our food was not to your taste and that you say you weren't asked if you had enjoyed your meal. We do try to offer something to suit most palates with our menu of pub classics and daily specials and try to have customer satisfaction at the heart of all we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a drink at The Bay Horse, Marygate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my American buddy who was over on business. In stead of staying in a sterile hotel with no ambience I wanted him to experience an old English Inn, so to me this was an ideal choice. As you would expect, it had a rustic feel to the place with plenty of character.

We had absolutely no complaints regarding cleanliness or hygiene during our stay. The atmosphere throughout was warm and welcoming.

This place is about an hour from where I live so I've seen the Inn many times before, but never actually stayed there. The Inn is literally only minutes walk away from the history and attractions that the centre of York has to offer.

The staff were extremely friendly, very obliging and very down to earth.

Good Job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank in-viator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments on your recent stay at The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We were very pleased that you received a warm, friendly welcome and that our staff were obliging and welcoming and that you liked the character of our building.

We also appreciated that you found our standards of cleanliness and hygiene to be high and that you discovered how close we are to the centre of things here in York.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us here at The Bay Horse , Marygate, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I checked in here last night, i was away on business in York.
I was offered a room that was excellent value for money that included free parking in the adjacent car park. Please note York is an expensive place to park and the free parking saved me £10 straight away. The room was fantastic, clean and fairly luxurious for the price range. I stay away most weeks and this little place just a 5 minute walk from the centre rivals any 4 star rooms.
The most impressive thing about this place is their staff. Paul and Sherrilee were stars from the start, can't do enough for you. I even had 2 shirts ironed and a pair of pants pressed!
If your in York stay here simples!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found us to be great value for money, particularly the fact that we include free, local parking in our tariff.

It was also very pleasing to read that you found our service levels to be high and that you appreciated our ironing skills!

Thank you once again for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bay Horse, Marygate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

At first, I thought it the same, but no, it was very nice inside and quiet which we went on Friday and order the food and then again thought back on Saturday it was packed which we werent keen but nice food. We are going again next week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We were very pleased that you found The Bay Horse very nice inside and that you enjoyed our food.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited the pub tonight as part of a large group. The pub is clean inside and out and the decor is really nice inside, with a good selection of beers and ciders. We didnt try any food but the menu looked fine.
The pub was really let down by the senior barman/duty manager/landlord who was seriously lacking in a personality. No smile or even a grin made contact with his face!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apollosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Liaison, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review of The Bay Horse, Marygate, York.

We were very pleased that you found our pub clean inside and out and the decor nice.

It was great that you liked the look of our menu and that you found we had a good selection of beers and ciders.

We are sorry that you found our service on this occasion wasn't up to our usual high standard and hope you will call in and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#43 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#106 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#44 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 68 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing