We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
$169
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
$121
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
41
21
6
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
21
6
4
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 84 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights including New Years Eve and had a really enjoyable time.

A really nice pub, the staff and locals were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Room was nice. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meals very good.

We will definitely visit again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinn_manager, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Apologies for the late response, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed celebrating the New Year with us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked for 2 nights prior to the flooding in Sept 2012, cancelled within the agreed timeframe, which meant no Cancellation Fee. Hotel then charged us for both nights - and we hadn't even stayed there !! This, despite that fact that the hotel HAD to close as it was under 4foot of water due to the flooding, so we couldn't have stayed there even IF we had wanted to.
Despite many requests, after 8 weeks of waiting for a Refund (which was MY money, by the way), the Credit Card company stepped in and gave us a full refund.
We cannot have been the only people to be treated in this way - was the hotel taking money from us to pay for the refurbishment ?? Either way, the management are totally insincere and unscrupulous, what they did was unethical, not to mention Illegal; so unless you want to be charged for not even staying there, we suggest that you AVOID AT ALL COSTS !! At this rate, the hotel will be out of business before the end of 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SpiritSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I hate complaining and have never wrote a review before but this visit was just horrible! We paid £50 for Bed and Breakfast, prior to going we looked on line at the food menu and it seemed to be nice food so we arranged to arrive early in order to have some lunch in the bar before getting ready to attend the wedding we were going to. When we arrived we checked in and the girl said 'do you know the kitchen is closed, we werent be serving any food at all including breakfast' so not only had we arrived early to have lunch but we wouldnt be getting the breakfast we had paid for either.When we got to our room, room 3 it was ok but nothing like the pictures online. The room was freezing and the bathroom was dirty. My partner turned on the Tv as he had planned to watch the rugby on BBC however the tv's did not work. He then attempted to get a shower however the shower door did not shut therefore water went everywhere.

After contemplating going and staying somewhere else we decided that as we would be at the wedding it was only a bed and we would make do.

After a great night out we returned at midnight to find ourselves LOCKED OUT! It was freezing cold, Pitch black, not a person in sight. I was scared and cold and my partner was worried as we were in the middle of nowhere and could not get in to the B&B. We knocked on all the doors and windows front and back, we even went to the cottage attached where the door was open, we let ourselves in and were shouting hello but nobody came. If we would have had our car keys we would have slept in the car however our car keys were in the room. We saw lights on upstairs but after kncoking and shouting nobody came. We were ringing the number for the Ship inn hoping someone would answer however the phone kept being hung up. After over an hour a gentleman from upstairs who had heard us knocking came down and unlocked the door. By this point we were fumning and freezing! it took us ages to get warm and get to sleep.

When we woke in the morning as there were no breakfast we wanted to leave straight away. We went downstairs to check out yet there was nobody around. we left our keys on the bar and left.

HORRIBLE! Spoilt our weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a different B&B
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and hospitality, fed the ducks too! Granny really enjoyed her 90th party.The children were happy to potter around in the beer garden. Well done to Mark and barstaff for a very enjoyable afternoon

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The double room we got had a 4 poster bed which was very comfy, room was spacious and clean with views of the boats on the river, loveley toiletries and fluffy white towels, plenty of tea/coffee. The evening meal was very tasty with large portions, and the staff were so happy to help. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty (slight niggle was that there were no fresh juice- hadnt had the delivery yet- but gave me a britvic 55 and that we couldn't get a good picture on the tv ) Lovely beer and gardens. We are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machaella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews